Skip to content
Tags

The End Challenge

by on April 16, 2015

I recently joined Romance Writers of America. Unfortunately, I haven’t had the time to really investigate all it has to offer but I was able to find a critique partner so that’s a plus right there.

Photo by Onderwijsgek. Used under the Creative Commons Attribution- Share Alike.

Photo by Onderwijsgek. Used under the Creative Commons Attribution- Share Alike.

I also attended a chapter meeting and got some great ideas. It was at the meeting that I learned about The End Challenge. It’s a little like NaNoWriMo except you have a year to complete and it doesn’t have to be 50,000 words. You pick your word count and commit to having it completed by the end of the year.

While I found this to be motivational and quickly signed myself up, several writers in the meeting seemed a little miffed about it. They believe that this will soon become a requirement for membership. One writer even saw it as a way to keep non-fulltime writers out of the organization.

I don’t know enough yet to respond but it is interesting. Could this tool be used to exclude those who haven’t finished a project? Or is as I imagine – a tool to motivate and evaluate?  If I can’t finish this 30,000 word project in a year then it is time to evaluate why? It is time management or is my heart just not into it anymore?

I love a good conspiracy theory so I laughed along with a writer who said that the RWA wasn’t going to require Nora Roberts to complete The End Challenge. Probably not, but she’ll get a book out anyway.

For those who’ve been in the RWA for a while, let me know what you think about The End Challenge???

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

