Skip to content

A Legend in the making. Today’s Guest Vicktor Alexander.

by on February 26, 2015

A wonderful colleague and friend took a minute to sit down with Luscious today and talk about life, books, romance and everything in between. We asked a few question and whew did we get some candid answers. This is exactly why in my mind Vicktor is a legend in the making.  AND if you haven’t had an opportunity to try one of is books you should…I’m just saying. Read his interview and let me know what you think.

1700749

  1. Give us a brief introduction: Who are you and what do you do?

Hello everyone! My name is Vicktor Alexander. I am a bestselling author of gay romance, fiction, and fantasy. Most of my couples are interracial or multicultural, all of them are imperfect, I love writing diversity of all kinds and genres of all kinds. From contemporary to paranormal to BDSM to fantasy to scifi and everything in between. Often mixing genres, combining them, and then flipping them on their heads. I’m known as the “King of Tease,” the “Epilogue King” and for being the author who writes outside of “the box” usually because I don’t recognize it’s there.

  1. How do you react to a bad review of one of your books?

Bad reviews happen. They’re a fact of life as an author. It’s just like death and taxes. So when I receive one, I first try to find out if there is something within the review I need to learn from. Something that I can take from it that will make me a better author. If there’s not, if it’s just a matter of opinion, the reader not liking the book based on their personal preferences, or because they were having a bad day, or because they are a troll (yes, they exist), then I grunt, pout, talk to my friends about the review, ask them about it (especially if there’s something personal about me in the review) and then I move past it.

  1. Are the names of the characters in your novels important?

Being Jewish, I believe that the name you give someone has a lot of weight, meaning, and power. So on the one hand, yes, sometimes I put a lot of thought into certain characters’ names. Other characters though, I will do a random name generator, ask my friend Taylor Law to give me a name, or give me a letter and a vowel and then pick a name that starts with those two things and go from there. However, I’ve noticed that whenever I’ve given a character a name that way, I still end up defining their name and it makes me laugh when their personality matches their name. It’s why the name is such a major thing for the Jewish people.

  1. What are some of the challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

I thought the hardest thing for me would be writing outside of the M/M genre (I have other pennames that I write under), or writing diverse characters in a genre where there weren’t that many of them before, or eliminating passive voice, or dealing with the trolls who seem to hate everything I write, or even dealing with the drama that seems to exist and pulsate within the writing community, but even with all of those challenges I think the hardest challenge I’ve had to face are my own internal battles. The “am I good enough?” “is it worth it?” “should I give up?” “does it matter?” questions that plague my mind. The insecurity that comes after every bestseller because I’m not sure the next one will be. The uncertainty that it’s not all just a fluke. That my books aren’t just selling because I’m black, transgender, gay, Messianic Jewish, disabled, a single father, and a veteran of the United States Army. Usually these moments pass after I give myself a stern talking to, but they still happen.

  1. Do you believe in love at first sight?

LOL. Well, that’s a complicated question… Um… I don’t know. I believe in the possibility of love at first sight. I think it’s a nice thought and something to aspire to, but I’m not sure that I believe that it’s possible to truly know someone and love them completely at first sight. I think you can meet someone and have a connection at first sight or have the door for love open at first sight. I think that’s what people are feeling. It’s that possibility for love… at first sight.

  1. Which story of yours would you like to see brought to film?

All of them? LOL. I’ve actually thought about this a few times. A lot of my books are so… out there and I tend to write series books so they’d have to be like television shows, but I think if I could have any of my books made into a film I would choose either Groom Of Convenience or The Alpha’s Beautiful Mate, or maybe even Raising Shawna. That would make me happy and I think they would all do quite well on the big screen.

  1. Do you have a favorite book, if so what is it and why?

Don’t ask me this!! LOL. I can’t choose just one! Seriously. It’s impossible. I have favorite authors like: Brenda Jackson, Mary Calmes, Susan Mallery, Amy Lane, Andrew Grey, Ally Blue, Eloisa James, Zane, Stormy Glenn, Charlie Richards, Stephani Hecht, Jana Downs, Gabrielle Evans, Kassanna, etc. See? Can’t choose just one.

  1. What is the one thing you do after finishing a story?

I sit back with a sigh, spread my arms out wide and say, “Thank YHVH! It’s done!” Then I crack my knuckles, have a cup of coffee (if it’s morning) or a beer (if it’s nighttime), light up a cigarette, and send it off to my betas. It’s my ritual. LOL.

  1. What motivates you to write?

Everything inspires me and motivates me to write. Torchwood. Doctor Who. A conversation with friends. A “what if” thought. A dream. A memory. A past experience. A story from my grandmother (she’s hilarious!). Literally everything. I pull inspiration from everything and it all motivates me to keep writing. If I’m writing in my historical Regency series and I need to be motivated to write, I usually listen to Torchwood or Doctor Who. It’s the British accents and the whole “anything is possible” that helps me there. Everything is motivation.

  1. Fun question. Do you prefer ice cream or cake for dessert or both?

It all depends… where am I getting the cake from? LOL. If it’s Publix cake then I want some ice cream on the side. If it’s any other kind of cake (strawberry, vanilla, etc.) I’m usually good without ice cream. I usually prefer cake to ice cream because my teeth are sensitive and ice cream is COLD. Unless I’m licking it off of some hot man, it’s usually not worth it. But I don’t like chocolate and I’m allergic to coconut so anything other than that is fine with me.

 1647164

Thanks for having me!

http://www.vicktoralexander.com

http://www.authorvicktoralexander.com (blog)

vicktoralexander@vicktoralexander.com

http://www.facebook.com/AuthorVicktorAlexander

http://www.twitter.com/VVeeB

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

