Skip to content

Recipe Wednesday ~ Homemade Granola

by on February 25, 2015

As the warm weather approaches , I tend to get out more and go exploring in the woods behind my house. This year I am also trying to live healthier. I didn’t make any resolutions about losing weight or dieting. Nope, not me. This year I simply want to eat healthier and move more. I have been looking for recipes that I want to try and came across this one.

granola

Ingredients ~ Original recipe makes 12 servings
  • 5 cups old-fashioned oats
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup flaked coconut
  • 1 cup wheat germ
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  2. Mix oats, brown sugar, coconut, wheat germ, cinnamon, and nutmeg together in a large bowl. Stir water, oil, and vanilla extract into the oat mixture; spread onto a baking sheet.
  3. Bake in preheated oven, stirring every 15 minutes, until golden brown and crunchy, about 1 hour; transfer to a bowl. Stir raisins and almonds through the granola.
From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I love granola and am always on the lookout for new recipes for it. This is brill! 😀

Leave a Reply

