Skip to content

The Show Must Go On

by on October 5, 2014

I tell you, even those this post is a day late and such, the show must go on. Even as I type this, my mind is going through what I need to do after I press publish. Laundry is going, pound cake is going. Showers for the little ones are going. All I want to do is lay down and go to sleep.

Hands for Detroit volunteers at Brightmoor Aldersgate UMC

Yesterday, when this post was originally supposed to be, I was volunteering in the kitchen. Even Saturday we serve a community meal and everyone who enters the church eats. Well yesterday we had what’s called down Hands for Detroit and over 250 volunteers showed up. I think in total we fed around 300 people and let me tell you I was one tired puppy after the last pot was scrubbed and put away.

Of course I had help. I couldn’t have done any of it without the women and men who stopped in and worked tirelessly. I would gladly do it again. And you know what the best part about serving a meal? Seeing the smiles of contentment on the people’s face as the eat. That’s the biggest payment I could ever receive.

So even though we’re mourning the loss of DH’s uncle. the show must go on.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Everyone tells me the lunch was WONDERFUL! Thanks for reaching out to the neighborhood that way!!

Leave a Reply

