Skip to content

Burning Down My House…

by on August 19, 2014
Image courtesy of think4photop at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of think4photop at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Have you ever heard the saying burning down my house won’t make yours look better? One of the things we as authors need to realize in the grand scheme of things we’re not in competition with each other. We’re not. Readers are insatiable. Sure on any given day a person may choose your book over mine or vice versa… but the other might just end up on their wish list for their next payday.

So why do some authors feel the need to boycott other’s work? They angrily tout why this book or that is not worth a reader’s hard earned money. A bad book isn’t against the law and it’s not your place to defend a reader against it. Let the readers decide that. They know what they like and what they don’t. Trust me, they will… or they won’t either way, they can still support your work. Whether it’s 50 Shade of any color, Sex with extinct reptiles or an author that’s pissed you off on social media let them be. Angry rants may get you a handful of supporters, but you’ll end up losing in the end.

This doesn’t mean you have to share and endorse every book put out there. Make your endorsements from your heart. Make them true. The most successful writers are the ones who not only read… but let people know what they enjoyed. If they enjoy your work, they’ll probably like what you like. You may make fans or better yet friends. Either way, put down the matchbook and gasoline, because no matter what you say about another’s books or themselves isn’t going to make your book better. It won’t make yours shoot to the top of the list.

Success can only happen if you look inside yourself and admit that you might need to pull out the lawnmower and cut your grass. Or a new coat of paint could make your house brighter and maybe… just maybe if you throw a barb-b-q and invite the neighbors then suddenly your home will glow and become the place everyone wants to be.

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Brilliant post!! You are so right. Everything you say is true. Writers should never bash another writer. It only makes them look bad and makes enemies. I do as you say, read a ton and leave positive reviews on the books I truly like. The others I stay silent about. It’s not my place to tell others what to read or not read. There are enough romance readers for everyone. Great post and beautifully written.

  2. This is exactly what I’m trying to do– just let it go, even when I’m flabbergasted by the popularity of things I think are horrible. Insulting readers just seems like a bad policy to me. Why would anyone read my books if I called them ignorant for loving XYZ? I know I won’t read an author who insults me as a reader, or who seems to be trying to make his/her work look good by bashing other books. There’s definitely room for honest critique, but it grates on me when I read, “My book is SO MUCH BETTER THAN THIS CRAP.”

    That’s not to say I haven’t expressed my confusion over some things in private. But in public? No.

  3. I so agree, Michel. I also think if you constantly put down other authors’ books, you’re going to end up tarred by your own words and lose readers in the process. There’s a difference between an honest critique and a slam, but even honest critiques are best done in private, since the book is already published and there’s little the author can do to change it. Great post.

  4. Bravo! Sooooo well said! 😉

  5. Very cool Post and very true. Thanks for posting this.

  6. belindaegreen permalink

    I applaud you in sharing your comments! I so hate when all this type of stuff blows up in the various rooms. I’m still at a lost why the negative attitudes and comments are necessary. If you don’t like the book it’s just as easy to say nothing and move on. Why trash the author and the book? I have found in most cases it’s authors against authors. I find it sad that you can’t support the work that went into creating the work, good or bad. As a reader, I am put off by this behavior toward each other.

    Thanks again for sharing!

Leave a Reply

