Skip to content

When your best isn’t good enough…Keep pushing

by on July 3, 2014

sparklers

I’m not sure if its the summer and the kids are home, maybe I have more distractions than usual. It could be any number of things but recently it simply feels like I’m spinning my wheels without really moving.  I need to tell you. I hate that feeling. Looking at my calendar I have obligations to meet  and dates to fill and well hell, books to write. LOL! The voices are chattering but these fingers ain’t typing…at least no fast enough.

Every morning I wake up with the intention of getting wordage down, hyping myself up to finish a chapter then life interrupts. Oh joy! My frustration level is at an all time high and all I want to do is scream at my family to leave me alone so I can write. In peace. Of course I don’t, instead I listen to my son extol the virtues of Lego’s Chima versus Lego’s Ninjago. My daughter has endless questions and apparently I am meant to have endless answers or my husband that must tell me all about something else he needs for the yard, car and/or house. Oh and did I get the fireworks for the holiday?

Pulled in so many directions I feel like I am failing at everything. *Long sigh* Some quiet time alone with my characters would be so wonderful at the moment but family comes first. I stare longingly at my laptop promising long hours of gentle keystrokes to myself.  Intimate talks with my hero’s. Anything to shake the guilt of not writing an the physical ache of damning my creative juices. *smile* Oh well, there is always tomorrow.

Happy Independence Day my friends. I wish you a fun and safe holiday.

Kass

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. belindaegreen permalink

    Hang in there Kass! I have been there done that. It just seems like there aren’t enough hours in the day to take care of home and work. You’ll get there. it will be all the sweeter when you do.

    You too have a relaxing, fun, and safe 4th!

    Belinda G

Leave a Reply

