Skip to content

Just Because I’m Not_______ Doesn’t Mean I Can’t Write It

by on June 24, 2014

Good morning. You might notice the title of my post has a blank in the middle and that might prompt you to ask, well heck Sharita, what is the actual title of your blog today? Although it may be a mystery to you, you’ll get the idea as you read further into this article. If you have the patience for me jumping on my large soapbox, continue to read.

So, all of us are humans, right? We all bleed red and we all have a brain. We all have the spectacular ability to think, to have feelings, to express ourselves, et cetera. Whether or not you believe in a higher power or evolution, you know you’re a human being.

And then there’s the wonderful things that make us unique; our skin color, our personality traits, our beliefs, our sexuality. All these things and many others make us different from one another, making the world a very diverse place. Not everyone is white, black, Jewish, Christian, gay, straight, or what have you. We’re all born a certain way and this is what makes all people special. But that’s just it, we’re all PEOPLE. Despite all the things that set us apart from others, we’re all still human. So when people say you can’t do something, be something, or write something because of who you are, in my opinion, its complete bullshit.

For years we’ve discriminated against each other because of our differences. Minorities don’t feel that someone of the majority can possible know the struggle. That may be true but does it mean that individual can’t write about it? Not at all. No question when writing about something unfamiliar, you can do your research and ask, but it doesn’t mean you’re not allowed.

This all stems from the conversation about another article concerning women writing m/m fiction. Again, women, who are minorities, are being questioned about their ability to write. These arguments aren’t new or relegated to just m/m. Women have been shunned in other fictional circles as well. Horror, scifi, fantasy just to name a few. And then there’s the racial discrimination that a white person can’t effectively write character of color because they’re white. My question is why not? Those are just a couple of examples of the discrimination going on in fiction and it doesn’t stop there. What happened to the general idea about all of us having brains and the abilities to express ourselves? I suppose that’s all well and good when it comes to other things but when talking about fiction, we should stay in our own corners.

Speaking for me myself, I refuse to stay in my so called corner. I write about men in love, from different racial and religious backgrounds. I’ve written Christian characters, Jewish, and or indifferent. Gay men of color and white men, who some think I shouldn’t write about because I don’t own the same plumbing. That last bit about the male genitalia may be true, but I know about feelings. I know what it’s like to connect with another person and take it to the next level. And I’m involved in an interracial relationship so I know about people from different backgrounds falling in love. Despite all this I don’t claim to know it all and never will. What I write is what people do everyday; find a common bond and act on it. What’s wrong with that?

Writing is about expressing oneself through words and inspirations. It’s true, a lot of what you write is based on some kind of reality or else we’d all be writing fantasy books. In my opinion, stereotypes are generalizations and unless they’re central to the plot, they should be avoided. That however, is a topic for another day. Regardless, I won’t let anyone tell me I can’t write it because I’m not. I’m a person, first and foremost and because we’re all made with feelings, a body, and a brain, I know I can write about it.

Sharita

 

Jaydencover

Blurb:

Isaac Bridges has it all; wealth, a beautiful wife, and success. Yet and still, there are two things he desires more than anything. Denton & Associates back under his family’s name and a male lover he can call his own.

Jayden Demario, a handsome college student from a tough neighborhood is looking to make his career in advertising. His “madre” encourages him to take time out and find love but he wishes to follow his career path first and foremost.

Both men are missing a significant other in their lives, will stupid pride and hurtful secrets stand in the way of what could be a perfect union?

 

Amira Press

 

Amazon

 

B&N

 

ARe

Excerpt

Isaac grimaced when Silas finished his statement. “Right…I…” When a man approached with his secretary in tow, he stopped talking.

“Isaac? You what, man?” Silas tilted his head, asking a question.

Isaac gulped hard, glancing at the young gentleman coming into view.

Damn, who is this?

Isaac blinked, “I agree, I totally… um, Silas, you got…” Isaac nodded his head in the man’s direction. He could barely form the words looking at this pretty sight standing behind his boss.

Silas turned around. “Oh, hello, and you…are… my goodness, who are you?” He reached for the man and grasped his hands tightly.

Yeah, who the heck are you, sexy man?

“Mr. Denton, this is Jayden DeMario. He’s one of the interns from Roosevelt University.” The lady with him smiled sweetly and winked at Isaac. “Hey, Mr. and Mrs. Bridges. You both look amazing tonight.”

Isaac had to change his focus and stop staring at the hot young intern. “Well thank you. I’m really loving that dress on you, Tamela. It’s uh…” Isaac didn’t want to be disrespectful to Debra, but he had to do something not to give away his interest in Jayden.

“Oh, thanks.” Tamela gushed and kissed him on the cheek.

When Debra elbowed him, Isaac squeezed her hand and glanced in the direction of the intern who’d moved away from them.

Maybe it was for the best they did. Jayden was a beauty, tall and of Latino decent. His black ponytail reached the small of his back. Even through the suit, Isaac could tell the man took care of himself. He’d love to see more of that up close and personal. Shit. Dark brown eyes lay behind those black frames, and his face chiseled from stone; perfect nose and narrow cheekbones, and the chin. Damn, the man was so well put together he looked like he just stepped out of a magazine or movie.

Who was this kid, and when could he start so he and Isaac could get to know one another before Silas corrupted him?

“Isaac. You okay?” Debra’s voice broke him out of his trance.

Isaac glanced down at her and pulled her hand up to his lips. “Sorry about that, honey, but I think I just found love. And I… I swear, I don’t think I’ve ever been hit like this.”

“Whoa, babes.” Debra whispered to him, looking around her while she talked. “The kid? I mean, he is pretty hot, but he’s an intern. Didn’t you just tell me about dating men half my age?”

“Yeah, I did but… I mean, look at him.” Isaac peered over at Silas, most likely wooing him with his Twitter account followers and the spiel on being his favorite boy. Isaac had to admit he’d probably be doing the same thing if he had the chance.

“Isaac, you don’t wanna date where you work. That’s dangerous, and besides, again, you told me about Darnell and…”

“And that was for you, my friend, not me.” Isaac cleared his throat, hoping to get Silas’ attention and meet the man in person. “Hey, um, Silas, you need another drink or…”

Silas looked up and laughed, taking Jayden by the hand.

Oh, hell, it might be too late to save him from Silas.

“This, my friends, is Jayden DeMario, our new intern. I think I’m going to put him under your tutelage, Isaac. You’re great at what you do, and the man seems to know a lot about our company.”

Yes!

Isaac smiled, wishing he could do a silent fist pump.

Jayden’s eyes widened when Silas stopped speaking. “So… you mean I got the job? I…”

“Of course, young man. You’re…” Silas moistened his lips and gripped his palm. “You’re too smart and well qualified. I’d love to have you on my team. So… this is Isaac Bridges and his lovely wife. Isaac, Jayden DeMario. Let me inform the ladies at the front that the position’s been filled. They can turn away all other interns for the evening. We found our man!” Silas let go of Jayden’s hand and grasped his shoulder instead, shaking it. “Why don’t the two of you get acquainted?” Silas slapped Jayden’s back and walked away.

Isaac held out his hand for Jayden. Once they connected, a shot of adrenaline went from his hand straight to his cock. Damn, this was only the first meeting, and the man already had an effect on his libido. “Nice to meet you, Jayden. I’m, uh… very excited to work with you. This is my beautiful wife, Debra.”

“Hi, Jayden, lovely to meet you.”

 

Author Sharita Lira: In one word, crazy. Just crazy enough to have 3 4 different muses running around in her head, driving her to sheer exhaustion with new plot bunnies and complex characters.

This happily married mother of two beautiful children loves music, computers, reading, and still enjoys reading and writing fanfiction. She’s a proud member of the Erotica Readers & Writers Association, as well as an advocate for rights of LGBT citizens. She’s also a contributor to the heavy metal ezine Fourteeng.net.

For more information, please visit http://www.thelitriad.com as well as her Facebook fanpage, The Literary Triad.

 

The Literary Triad – http://www.thelitriad.com/#!

 

Michael Mandrake – http://michaelmandrake.wordpress.com

 

BLMorticia – http://blmorticia.wordpress.com

 

Rawiya – http://rawiyaerotica.wordpress.com

 

Veronica Bagby – http://veronicabagby.wordpress.com/

 

Twitter  http://twitter.com/#!/rawiyamikembl

 

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/TheLiteraryTriad

 

AuthorGraphhttp://www.authorgraph.com/authors/rawiyamikembl

 

Signup for Newsletter

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Reblogged this on Michael Mandrake and commented:
    Shar is on Lucious Lit

  2. 100% agree (or almost) with what you’ve said. The accusations against women are eternal, I think, just because (sigh) we ARE women. I notice no one claims a man can’t write a woman in a love story because HE doesn’t have the plumbing. And the old “write what you know” adage would preclude it anyway if we followed that narrow-minded stricture! (I have not, however, heard anyone complain that a human can’t write fiction with elves in it …. but give it time). My only comment would be that, as an Anglo-Saxon (by heritage) white woman, I might hesitate to write a character of an ethnic group far removed from me simply because I am concerned I might not do the character justice, vis a vis, depth of character, realism of background, or (heaven forfend) be inappropriate or offensive in something I write. Not because I might not want to but because I would want it to be a powerful portrayal – something I might not be able to pull off. But I love to write my male characters and, just like someone writing a serial killer, I can study, learn, observe and IMAGINE those male characters, just like (we hope) all those authors are IMAGINING their serial killers. Thanks for an insightful post!

Leave a Reply

