Skip to content

Sympathetic Heroine or Nah?

by on June 20, 2014

I’m polishing a novella for submission. Yes, I’ve been polishing it way beyond what should be needed for a 20,000 word piece but that’s me.

And I’ve got another one of those heroines who may not be easy to like. I don’t set out to create them they just speak to me.

There’s Amber Grayson Miller, a strong personality who likes to be in control. A reader said that Kevin should have dumped her in the first novella. Eek!

Then there’s Darcey St. Claire Guidry, a fashionista with panic attacks. Darcey’s been told to simply get over her PTSD. I think you know what the Psychology major in me says about that.

Anyhoo, I’ve got another one.

Young black woman wearing dress and sun hat, afro hairstyleTara Kirkland, the other woman. Does it matter that she didn’t know her lover was married? Should she have donned her detective hat when a prospective¬†client asked her out to dinner?

Hmmm, it’s hard to tell. But I for one am enjoying her story.

And I have to make that okay for me and keep rewriting until I can turn it over to the beta readers.

Hopefully, it’s soon. I want y’all to meet her.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. I think she can be forgiven since she didn’t know, but that disappears in my mind if she continues to see him married. I think that situation can be interesting in a read, a woman finding out the guy she cares about was married. However, if he’s the hero, that’s a deal breaker for me. A man who cheats to get with a new woman will cheat to get with the next new one.

  2. Thanks Tressie, I agree and he’s not the hero.

  3. Reblogged this on valloryv and commented:

    Blogging over at the LLs today!

Leave a Reply

