Skip to content

Kimberly Hunter is in DA HOUSE!!!

by on June 19, 2014

A great interview with a Hot author. Put your hands together and please welcome Kimberly Hunter to the house…

1. Give us a brief introduction:  Who are you and what do you do?

Hello! My name is Kimberly Hunter. I write mostly M/M with a smattering of M/F in paranormal, sci/fi, and contemporary genres.

2. Have you ever had a not so sterling review? If so how do you react to a bad review of one of your books.

Lord, what author hasn’t? LOL! It comes with the territory. There’s always going to be someone who doesn’t like your work. The story, the length, the MC’s, and so on. And I have to admit, when I first became published nearly eight years ago, the bad reviews hurt. A lot. And seriously, an author never grows a thick enough skin that a crappy review doesn’t get to them. But after 14 books and lots of reviews, good and bad, I don’t get disturbed by the bad ones so much as wondering why that reviewer would write something that nasty. That negative and hurtful. As authors, we put a considerable amount of time and ourselves into our stories. It’s a lonely process, one filled with more angst than a virgin on prom night. So while we put ourselves out there for the masses, it just boggles my mind that someone could take an author’s hard work and pretty much destroy it with a few small sentences. And for what? You didn’t like the book? Okay, fine. Moving on. But to get downright ugly is uncalled for. So for those, I just ignore them. No sense stooping to that level. I’ll just imagine what they look like and kill them off in my next book. 😉

3. How do you choose what project you’re going to work on next?

I don’t really have much of a process, I’m afraid. Most of the time, it all depends on my mood or what I’m interested in at the time. My latest release was due to a fever and med induced dream when I had a bout of the flu back in February. For now, I’m on the fence between three. Seems my Muse can’t make up his mind and neither can I. Not unusual really. I’ve learned that pushing myself on a project can lead to lots of deleting. And I really hate doing that. I need to really be immersed in the story, or it won’t flow. Hence the deleting.

4. What are some of the challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

How much time do we have? LOL! There are so many. But I guess the biggest is trying to get my name and work out there. The writing world has grown by leaps and bounds in the last decade. And with Amazon making it easier for anyone to publish a book, good and bad, it makes it even harder for an author like myself to get noticed. I’ve been published for nearly eight years and have 14 books and counting. Yet I’m still considered a newbie because I’m still unknown. Not to mention the competition with the uber popular authors already making it. There have been times when I just wanted to say screw it and give up. But writing isn’t just what I do, it’s who I am. So I’ll keep at it and hope that one day, my perseverance will pay off.

5. Some authors have critique partners, beta readers or are part of groups. Do you work with others to fine tune you’re stories?

I have a beta reader. Though unfortunately, not for long. Things happen or come up so I’ll be looking for another. But I like getting another’s view on my work. Having a fresh set of eyes to let me know what I missed or what needs tweaked is always a good thing. An author is too close to their work to catch the little things. Having another go over it can point those things out. Makes for a better story and a happy reader.

6. Which story of yours would you like to see brought to film?

Oh, if I could have ‘Saying Goodbye at Ocean Isle’ on film, I’d be a happy author. An author friend even told me it would be perfect due to the story’s size and emotional content. I had, at one time, even talked about pitching it to an independent production company. But, I’m not well known even the M/M genre, so that was a bust. Still, it was fun imagining it on the big screen.

7. What is your favorite summer tradition, if any?

Basking in the sun with a good book and looking at all the flowers in bloom around my house. With mine and the hubby’s work schedules, we don’t get many vacation days. So when we do have time off, we use those days to just lay around and veg.

8. What is the one thing you do after finishing a story?

Collapse! Literally and figuratively. LOL! No one really understands the mental strain that goes into writing a book. So after I’m done, I’m exhausted. I usually take a couple days after to rest before I tackle the editing. And since I write all my books longhand, I edit as I type. Makes it easier and less time consuming when editing.

9. What motivates you to write?

Songs mostly. When I’m deeply immersed in a story, I’ll play music to motivate the Muse. Then, one song will stick with me that echoes what I’m writing. I’ll play that song through the entire writing process as motivation and inspiration. I listened to ‘Let it Go’ with my latest release. For ‘Rescued by Love’, it was Richard Marx ‘This I Promise You’.

10.  Fun question. Are you a ice cream or cake person?

Hmmm…..I’d have to say both. I don’t like one over the other. Both are good. And together, YUM!

 

Want more? Our guest brought with her some wonderful yumminess in the form of an excerpt and check out the pretty cover…say it with me HAWT!

10487796_10204100485774020_99366027_n

Blurb

 

For untold centuries, the history of the Regem Lupus, the Wolf King, and his Regem Conjugem, the Royal Consort, have been hidden. Many times they have surfaced, putting the Pack back in order. Only to have it all fall apart again after their deaths.

Until now.

This is the personal account of Caleb Lamont and Jett Valen. Told in their own words, follow along with them and discover how an ordinary human and a powerful Alpha Prime learn of their birthright, their heritage, and most importantly, their destiny.

So in the immortal words of Caleb Lamont, “Buckle up, bitches! It’s going to be a wild ride!”

 

 

Excerpt

 

“You look great in black.” Jett skimmed fingers over my cheek. “Makes this pale skin glow like pearls. And this gorgeous hair.” He moved agile fingers up into my locks, rubbing my scalp. Felt so good. “The color looks like every shade of flame and in between. It’s incredible.”

“Wasn’t this weird color mix before I was turned.” I was melting into goo as those talented fingers kept on kneading my scalp. “Just a plain strawberry blond like my grandfather and uncle.”

“Not unusual,” he said as he continued to finger comb my hair. “It’s like the shifter gene brings out the uniqueness denied you as a human.”

“Sounds plausible,” I mused. “I was rather boring looking before.”

“Somehow, I doubt that.” Jett chuckled softly.

“But true, nonetheless.”

I would have said more but familiar sounds were coming our way.

“Damn.” I sighed into Jett’s neck. He smelled so fucking good. “I hear the pitter patter of the oncoming hoard.”

“I’m kind of surprised they stayed away this long.” He nuzzled my hair, inhaling deeply as his hands cupped the back of my head. “I’ve always loved peaches.”

“Yeah?” I pulled back just enough to reach up and tap his lips. “Going to take a bite out of me?”

“Don’t tempt me,” he growled then kissed the ever loving shit out me.

“You think they’re up?” Jax’s voice was soft as the door was eased open.

Swear to God, I think my eyes crossed when Jett pulled away. It must have shown because his grin was satisfied and smug. He most definitely had a right to be. Sexy bastard.

“If they are, I hope they’re not doing anything,” Ziggy whispered. “Seriously, I thought I’d have to bleach my eyeballs last time.”

“How the hell do you think I feel?” Came Dean’s strident yet soft voice. “My commander and oldest brother, writhing around on the floor like a couple of greased pigs in heat. I’m probably going to need therapy.”

“You all need therapy,” I told them.

“Greased pig? Really?” Jett snickered.

They fanned out around my bed, each one with a huge smile on their face. The unrepentant little shits.

“More like eels,” Rayleen commented. “Pigs aren’t that graceful.” She shrugged.

“I don’t think pigs can writhe either,” Niall added as he turned to his Soul Mate. “Sorry, honey. The eel’s fit better.”

“I still think I need therapy,” he whined. “That kind of trauma can leave lasting scars, you know? I mean, what if I’m out on a mission and have a flashback?”

I laid my head against Jett’s shoulder. “I will not maim my team. I will not maim my team.”

“Does that usually work?” I could tell Jett was trying to hold in his amusement.

“We’re much faster than he is,” Rayleen replied cheekily.

I looked up and pinned them all with an evil smile. “Not anymore you’re not,” I pointed out.

The light went on over four heads. Ziggy shook his in mock sadness.

“They were a good team.” He sniffled, wiping away fake tears.

Jett lost his battle with trying to hold back and burst out laughing. If I thought his shy smile was sexy, his joyous laughter was even more so. Christ, he was a beautiful man. Cheeks flushed, lips still swollen from my kisses, those gold eyes sparkling. If my team wasn’t in the room…

As his laughter faded to a few snorts, I laid my hand against his cheek. “Happy is a good look for you.”

“Yeah?”

“Definitely.” I kissed the tip of his nose then started to sit up.

~

Thanks for having me! I’ve enjoyed it and hope to do it again in the future!

Hugs!

Kimberly Hunter

www.kimberlyhunterauthor.blogspot.com

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

