Skip to content

Happy Memorial Day

by on May 26, 2014

I debated what to blog about today. There are military books out I could point out. Back yard BBQ’s and get together have become a norm as a way to celebrate the occasion.  Freedom from work, a time to relax, I mean there is no end to what I could talk about. So here I sit thinking. The kids are sleeping even my husband told me goodnight hours ago. I didn’t want to blog about those things. Yes, Memorial day can equate to three day weekends and some damn good eating while kids run around and play. But…

I want to talk about the deeper meaning.

memorialday2

There are men and women out beyond are small part of the world and they are doing their damnedest to keep us here on US soil safe. My uncles use to tell me  – Freedom ain’t free. For a log time I had no clue what he was talking about. I come from a long line of soldiers. I think I’m saying that right. I have picture of my uncles as Buffalo soldiers, my dad was an Army Ranger. Brothers, uncles, cousins, and friends, they have all served or are serving this great country and those are the people I want to talk about. Our soldiers and their sacrifices.  A lot of the won’t be home to celebrate great food and a cold beer and some of them never will. There are wives and husbands that can only chat with their loved ones via social media. Some veterans are suffering, unable to escape the images in their minds of what they witnessed or endured. Reality check.

I want to say THANK YOU to all those who serve or are serving. As I get older that saying my uncles loved to utter becomes more clear. Freedom indeed isn’t free and there are those that pay the cost daily for some of our indulgences. So even if you can’t hug a soldier take a minute if only to say a silent thank you. Those men and women deserve so much more.

And…let’s not forget the spouses that provide the physical and emotional support that in some cases keeps those soldiers going.

I salute you all.

Happy Memorial Day.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. belindaegreen permalink

    Well said Kass! Thank you for the reminder of what the day really means. 🙂

    Belinda

Leave a Reply

