Skip to content

S.K Yule is in da house with a Lycan Redemption

by on April 29, 2014

Today we have S.K Yule in the house and she sat down to give us here at Luscious a kick-ass interview, Check it out below. I have to admit I can relate to a lot of her answers. She was kind enough to share a pretty cover with us too along with a blurb and excerpt. And even better its a paranormal book. After you see a sample of her work stay tuned because she has a new release in June.  Check you later friends have a great day.

Kass

 

1216473

 

 

  1. Give us a brief introduction:  Who are you and what do you do?

Hi everyone! *waves* My name is S. K. Yule, and I’m a national bestselling author. I have written paranormal romance, ménage romance, LGBT romance, historical romance, western romance, and contemporary romance. Yes, I love romance, but overall, I simply love writing.

I am also a huge horror/scifi/fantasy fan as well. I am currently flirting with expanding my writing into one of these genres. When I’m not writing, I’m spending time with my hubby—yes, I have and HEA and have found my soul mate—my furry kids, or family. I love watching Doctor Who, Sherlock, Haven, reruns of Primeval, Torchwood, and too many others to name. And I tend to love villains—the potentially redeemable ones—more than the heroes. For example, I think Loki is my fav Avenger (Yes, he is an Avenger. Don’t argue. I’ll never cave J )

When I am writing, you can usually find me in my office, pecking at the keyboard, with 80s music playing in the background. Yes, I have a deep love of 80s music. I absolutely love hearing from readers and other authors.

2.  Have you ever had a not so sterling review? If so how do you react to a bad review of one of your books?

Of course! Getting negative reviews comes with the territory of being an author. How do I react? Honestly, I tend to avoid any reviews written on my stories other than a few I have to pick to put up for promo. No one likes to get negative reviews. However, if you choose the career of a writer, you will not avoid it. I don’t care if you are a NYT author and have millions of adoring readers. You will get negative reviews. Under no circumstances will everyone love your work.

It’s okay. It’s not the end of the world. You do your best. You write your best. You give your readers the best material you can and continue to grow throughout your career. Too many times authors obsess on the handful of negative reviews they’ve received instead of the positive ones. Authors, by nature, I think are insecure people—as in, we are always questioning the quality of our writing. One minute, we are like “OMG! This is the most fabulous thing I’ve ever written.” The next, “This is horrible. I’m a complete and utter failure.” It’s all part of being a writer, and you have to learn to roll with it, accept it for what it is, shake it off, and keep going. Write on!!

3.  How do you choose what project you’re going to work on next?

If I don’t have something that I am required to be writing, as in, the next book in a series or such, I usually go with my gut. I go with whatever gets me excited about writing.

4.  What are some of the challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

Oh my. That is a tough question. There are constant challenges with being a writer just as there is with any other career. The thing we talked about earlier, the insecurity, is probably the big one. We all feel it. We all feel as though we are not good enough at times. At first, that was hard to overcome. It is something you have to work on. You have to figure out a way to get yourself through it and not count on others because chances are, most of the people immediately surrounding you, i.e. family and friends, will not understand what is going on in your brain.

Also, I suffer from writer’s block off and on, lack of motivation, and other obligations eating into my writing time. It is okay though. I have learned to take it for what it is and no longer let it stress me out. Life is unpredictable at best, and most of the time it is useless to try to live by a schedule. I have learned to get in my writing time whenever I can sneak it in here and there at times when life is not cooperating.

5.  Some authors have critique partners, beta readers or are part of groups. Do you work with others to fine tune you’re stories?

I have had a wonderful writing buddy/critique partner for seven years now. She has also become a best friend whom I love dearly. I have recently acquired beta readers. I love the betas. This is a tricky subject, however. Let me explain. It is essential to get input from others, and when I say others, I mean people other than close family and friends. Close family and friends tend to think everything you do is wonderful even when it might not be. Also, you have to learn what should be changed and what shouldn’t be changed per your critiques.

What I mean by that is, if you have say, ten beta readers, every one of them might express the wish for different changes in different places of your story. You must try to figure out where there is a true problem that needs addressed, and where things may just be personal preference to others. You cannot incorporate every single suggestion into your story. You must keep your story true to you and to your voice. That being said, most good betas understand the difference between personal preference and real plot/story problems that need addressed.

6.  Which story of yours would you like to see brought to film?

Is this a trick question? *laughs* All of them! Seriously though, I would love to see any of them in a film.

7.  What is your favorite spring tradition, if any?

Hmm. I wouldn’t call spring cleaning a tradition, more of an abhorred activity, so I’ll skip that. Don’t really know. The only thing I can think of about spring, which is really not a tradition, is I’m happy to see it. Love the brisk weather and seeing the grass and trees turn green along with flowers sprouting up. I guess really the only spring tradition I have is Easter with my family and making my great nephews birthday cakes for him each year in April (this year it was King Kong).

8.  What is the one thing you do after finishing a story?

Crumble into an exhaustive heap and sleep.

9.  What motivates you to write?

The excitement over the ideas I get for stories and wanting to get them out for the world to see.

 

10.  Fun question. Are you an ice cream or cake person?

Wow. This is actually pretty easy for me. I don’t eat either a lot, but I’m really not an ice cream person. I like ice cream, but eh, I can do without it most of the time. Now a good gooey chocolate cake is hard to resist.

 

Blurb ~

On the run after falsely accused of heinous crimes against his own kind, ancient lycan, Galen Soloman, never expects to find the one thing he’s longed for his entire existence. His mate.

While Myka Dougan struggles to be a proper guardian to her nephew after her brother’s tragic death, the last thing she needs to deal with is the fiery attraction she feels toward her sinfully sexy, new farmhand.

Can Galen and Myka find the happiness they both deserve? Or will Galen’s past catch up to him and threaten their newly found love?

Warning: Sexy, ancient lycan male + Stubbornly responsible, beautiful female + Fate = Fiery chemistry that cannot be denied.

Excerpt ~

God, she was confused right now. She had no idea why Galen wouldn’t make love to her, but it definitely had something to do with whatever he needed to tell her. What could be bad enough that he couldn’t make love to her before confiding in her? She refused to speculate on it all night.

She stood, and nearly fell over before getting her jelly-like legs under control. “Tell me.”

He got up and held his hand out in invitation. When she hesitantly took it, he led her outside to the bench in front of the barn. She plopped down before he slowly sank to the seat beside her.

“There are things about me you need to know, but I’m not sure how to tell you this.”

“We’ve all done stupid things in our lives. We all make mistakes. I won’t think any less of you. Unless, of course, you’re a serial killer or something.” She giggled nervously. When he didn’t answer, her stomach clenched in one big knot. “Oh my God! You aren’t, are you?”

“No. I’m not a serial killer.” He chuckled. “You are safe with me.”

“Whatever you have to tell me, I promise I won’t go running off like some terrified dumb blonde in a bad horror flick.”

“You sure about that?” When he turned to face her, his eyes were glowing once again.

“Why do they do that? Your eyes? Why do they glow? How is that even possible?”

“I was wondering when you would ask.”

“All the other times, I was a bit preoccupied.”

“I’m not like you. I’m different.” He frowned.

“We are all different. That’s how it is.”

“No. I’m really different. Damn it. I don’t want to frighten you, but I have to tell you for your own protection.”

She was getting scared, and truthfully, the thought of running off like the dumb blonde in the horror flick was beginning to look appealing. Stop it. Whatever it was it couldn’t be that terrible. Lots of people who thought they had big, bad secrets who were afraid to tell anyone for fear of being rejected or ridiculed, found out that whatever it was was not so bad after finally saying it out loud. Maybe Galen was simply turning a molehill into a mountain. Although he didn’t strike her as the overdramatic type.

She fidgeted with her dress. Suddenly her previously dampened instincts—probably due to the overwhelming orgasm she’d had—kicked in hard. The knot in her stomach grew tighter, and she had to fight to keep her breathing calm to avoid hyperventilating. Dread descended upon her in the form of an invisible black cloak that draped over her entire body. She fought the need to run, somehow sensing running would be the worst thing she could do.

He was watching her with those mesmerizing eyes as if he could read every emotion, every thought going through her brain. Her muscles tensed as her body prepared itself for a quick getaway. But why? Galen would not hurt her. That had not changed. Maybe not physically, but what he’s about to tell me will change me forever.

She stood, walked to a section of the wooden pasture fence only a few feet from the barn, and leaned against it before doing something ridiculous like breaking out in a fit of hysterical laughter. He came up beside her and leaned his arms on the top rail. She had to settle for the middle rail with her shorter frame.

“It’s quiet out tonight. I don’t hear crickets or anything,” she said, trying to distract herself from the foreboding thoughts assaulting her.

Suddenly he froze. He was so close she felt his muscles tense. He stood straight and gripped the top rail before cocking his head to the side and staring into the darkness of the tree line yards away. He sniffed at the air, and the hairs on the back of her neck stood on end.

“Myka, I want you to slowly turn from me and go to the house. Lock the doors and windows, turn out all of the lights, and find a place to hide.”

“Wh-What are you talking about?” She backed away from him slowly.

He turned to her, and she nearly tripped over her own feet. His eyes shined brighter than she’d ever seen, and pointy teeth peeked from below his top lip. His fingernails appeared to have grown longer as well. No. No! I’m imagining things. I’ve gotten so worked up over, over. . . whatever, that I’m seeing things that aren’t there.

He grabbed her by the shoulders and gave her a not-so-gentle shake.

“Snap out of it,” he snarled.

She winced. The teeth were definitely real. “What the fuck is going on?” She rarely cussed, but this was the perfect time for it if there ever was one.

“Listen to me!” he said in a low, commanding voice. “Do what I said. Go inside. Lock the doors and windows. Turn off all of the lights, find a hiding place, and don’t make a sound.”

She turned to do what he said because was it really worth arguing with him at this point? He obviously thought something was wrong, and her warning bells were clanging like Sunday church bells as well. The shit-was-about-to-go-down fog in the air was so thick it nearly choked her, and she was pretty certain she didn’t want to be caught in the middle of it. She gasped when he grabbed her shoulder and spun her back around to face him.

“Iron. That is our only weakness. Find something with iron in it. If you are found, use it. It may save your life.”

“Your only weakness? What the hell are you talking about?” She scrambled backward toward the house when he released her.

“Lycan, Myka. I’m a Lycan. More are coming.”

Links ~

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-lycanredemption-1216473-340.html

http://www.amazon.com/Lycan-Redemption-S-K-Yule-ebook/dp/B00D3CD9X2/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1398750943&sr=1-1&keywords=Lycan+Redemption

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Great interview 🙂

Leave a Reply

