Skip to content

Elephant Ears

by on April 16, 2014

Sorry for the late post, but I got caught up twisting my hair. On top of forgetting to schedule my post. One of my favorite things to get from the local fair or a really good bakery is an elephant ear. My oldest son found a recipe online a few years ago and let’s just say he knows not to leave me alone with a plate of fresh elephant ears. 🙂

INGREDIENTS:
1 1/2 cups milk
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons white sugar
3/8 cup shortening
2 tablespoons active dry yeast
4 cups all-purpose flour
1 quart oil for frying
3 tablespoons ground cinnamon
6 tablespoons white sugar
DIRECTIONS:
1. In small saucepan over medium heat, combine milk, salt, 2 tablespoons sugar and shortening. Heat until shortening melts and sugar dissolves. Remove from heat and let cool to lukewarm, 110 degrees F (43 degrees C). Sprinkle in yeast and let sit until foamy.
2. Transfer mixture to large bowl, and stir in flour to make a dough. Knead until smooth, cover and let rise 30 minutes.
3. In a large heavy skillet or deep fryer, heat 1 inch of oil to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
4. Roll out 1 to 2 inch balls of dough into thin sheets. Fry sheets 1 to 2 minutes on a side, until puffed and golden. Drain on paper towels.
5. Combine cinnamon and 6 tablespoons sugar. Sprinkle over warm pastries. Serve.

reposted from All Recipes

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. I’ve never heard of these, they sound delicious!

  2. belindaegreen permalink

    YOU Rock! I love these things! When the fairs were running I was almost the first one in line buying one. LOL. I was always begged anyone who knew me to get me one when they visited the fairs. Yep, an addiction much the same as cheesecake. It’s a toss up. 🙂

    Now I can make them myself! Thank ya Lynn!

    Belinda G

    • Omg, Belinda. When my son made them the first time, he couldn’t believe I ate the whole plate. Lol. There are two things I need from the fair. Elephant ears and cotton candy.

Leave a Reply

