Skip to content

My Decision to begin Living Healthy

by on April 15, 2014

ig9ppe_thMany of you might know that three weeks ago, I decided to do something many considered drastic to get healthy. This process began about a year and a half ago with a full six hour seminar, a psych eval, cardiac release, physician release, meet with the surgeon twice with my spouse, two meetings with the nutritionist a EGD and cardiac stress test. All of this to have them cut out 2/3rds of my stomach. Why not have surgery when my insurance covered 90%? And a lot of states with medicaid are now also paying for it. And they should, the benefits are amazing. Loss of Hypertension, diabetes, sleep apnea, and other disease processes that are limiting to a person go away within a few months.

I feel I need to add, this has nothing to do for self confidence or sex drive our outward appearance for me…but has everything do with the desire to live longer, fuller and healthier. ย I say this because I am always told how pretty or gorgeous I am and while I love the compliments, they mean nothing if I end up dying before watching my children get married and have their own families.

Many of my friends were against my choice to have this operation. A few of them cited that I’d never be able to drink alcohol again. In reality I take a beta blocker for SVT which is a racy heart. Doesn’t happen often, knock on wood but I rarely drink as is. I may order a pretty drink, take a few sips and then hand it over to a friend because I have no desire or need to get blitzed. Others cited the drastic change in diet I’d be forced to make a change.

Of course the change looks drastic but it’s not so bad. I’ve been caffeine free for almost three years due to the SVT. I have almost no desire to eat. That hormone left my body with the part of my stomach telling me I have to have what I’m craving. I haven’t had sugar in my system aside from natural fruit for two months. With that I’ve found I have more energy, I haven’t had to take my allergy pills and I just feel great. I may only eat two ounces of food at at time and have to pay attention to what my make my stomach feel weird but so far Eggs are the only thing that make me feel queasy.

What brought on the thought of having surgery was my arrhythmia doc who had a girlfriend who chose the band option. With my history he believed my SVT was weight related and would disappear once I dropped weight. It’s too early to tell now but I hope that’s the case. ย Then when I went on my last float trip on the Elk River with my band of girlfriends, I had a hard time swimming and being buoyant. And having SVT means that I can work out but I can’t work out hard enough to lose weight. So I made the sacrifice of alcohol, junk food and twizzlers to get healthy in 2014 and I don’t regret it. I can go out to eat with friends and watch them devour appetizers I can’t have and be okay. I can smell the ingredients but they don’t make me want to grab and eat.

What people don’t know is that although this is a complete lifestyle change that doesn’t mean I have to give up everything. There are plenty of desserts, foods, condiments I can have. I have to choose light or fat free. I can have anything sugar free and just have to watch out a few sugar free substances that make a person gassy. There’s this huge cookbook I ordered from Amazon with four hundred meal ideas, and fun things to change up. I have it on kindle, will have it on hand in a week or so.

Two weeks before the surgery, I was put on a mostly liquid diet. Protein shakes twice a day, 64 oz of liquids, water, broth, low calorie gatorade, sugar free popcicles, and a healthy dinner.

Three days after the surgery, Same liquids, adding applesauce, greek yogurt.

Three weeks after, soft foods, deli meats, fish, cottage cheese, string cheese, crab meat, canned meat, all the same liquids, canned fruits in natural juices, oatmeal or other hot cereals, fat free or low fat refried beans, fat free or low fat cream soups, condiments, mayo, spray butters, salad spritzers and canned veggies, carrots, green beans etc. I can have any spice in the cabinet for food. ย The stomach is still inflamed from surgery so eating in 1-2 ounces plus drinking is enough.

In another week I can begin to have my decaf coffee and tea again. Guess what? I can still go to Starbucks. Did you know they have sugar free flavoring and fat free low calorie whipped cream.

By six weeks I’ll be moving toward 3 to four ounce meals.

Eight weeks and beyond, I go back to everything. Raw vegetables, potatoes, beets, salads, bread, rice, pasta and course foods. I have a guide showing me how to weigh things and tub up food for the day to take with me. If I know I’ll be out and may not have time to eat, I can take a few tubs in my bag or grab a protein shake on the go.

Exercising is different. I can only walk still, no lifting for six weeks. They suggest walking for 15 minutes and then adding five minutes a week. I walk about 3o to 40 minutes a day at one time now. It took years to put on the weight, it will take a few to get it off. This is a gradual weight loss so that the skin has time to shrink down too.

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. Sheri permalink

    You are an amazing person I have had the pleasure of meeting. So proud of you honey.

  2. Congratulations on getting healthy.

  3. belindaegreen permalink

    I applaud your decision to take care of you. Good luck on your journey! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Belinda

  4. Health first always. Congrats and one day at a time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Wow, what a decision to make ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Reblogged this on Roxy Wilson.

  7. Hello Hales

    I don’t know if your remembered, but several months ago you’d told me that you were going to do this surgery. I’m glad you did it, and you’re happy with the outcome. Not many people are willing to share their journey with others, and for that I thank you.

    Continue to live healthy!

    Blessings….

    Roxy Wilson

Leave a Reply

