Skip to content

Cora Blu Jicama Salad

by on April 9, 2014

 

Jicama Salsa or salad

Jicama Salsa or salad

I’m recycling this from my site, so you may have seen this recipe. With the weather warming I figure it’s time to roll it back out. 

A refreshing crunchy salad. We also use it as a salsa by adding chopped mangos and pouring over rilled chicken. You can also sautee it in a skillet with a little water until the sugars run and make it into a syrup for pastries or waffles.

Cut all fruit and veggies into small bite sized cubes.

1 medium jicama. (jicama’s are extremely hard, but after you peel off the skin, and cut it into bite size pieces it tastes like a cross between a pear and celery)

1 crunchy apple. (my preference, Braeburn or Fuji)

1 medium cucumber

2 large pears

1 cup white grapes sliced in half

2 tbsp lemon juice Fresh if you have it

Three mint leaves torn into small pieces. I don’t like to cut herbs as some react negatively to metal, turning brown quickly.

 

Mix together and let chill for about thirty minutes. Keep in a ziploc and it gets better as the days go by in the frig. My girls love it. My one daughter takes it and a bag of my homemade granola to school.

Enjoy the summer fruits and veggies.

Enjoy, Sincerely, Cora Blu

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I have been trying to find this fruit. I love the recipe going to try 🙂

    • It’s squat and hard like a rutabaga. Beige like a paper bag. It’s reminds me of an Asian pear and a hint of celery. A fruit market should carry it. .

Leave a Reply

