Skip to content

A Luscious Look at Author A.E. Via and her release Nothing Special

by on April 8, 2014

Today I had the chance to sit down and chat with A.E.Via. She was hoot to talk with and I believe you will see that in her interview below. She sent us a pretty (yes a book cover) and a excerpt from her book, Nothing Special. Y’all know I have a love of cover and this is no different, it’s beautiful. The excerpt was pretty spiffy too! Can you tell I am in my sixties era mode. Anyway, take a look at both and show this sister author some love by leaving a comment.

Interview ~

1.Give us a brief introduction:  Who are you and what do you do?

My name is Adrienne Via, but I write under the name A.E. Via.

While I’m a fairly new author, only having written three books, I’m far from new to the LGBT genre. I’ve been happily reading primarily m/m for 9 years. It was only last year in early 2013 that I decided to write my own novel.

I live in Virginia Beach, VA and am a wife and mother of four. My family is huge and are all very supportive. Although none of them have read my novels (smiling) they are always asking how things are going and praising any achievements.

I run my own paralegal business (mainly filing bankruptcies for people that can’t afford a lawyer), and write in the wee hours of the night. Hopefully, I’ll be able to write full-time very soon.

2.Have you ever had a not so sterling review? If so how do you react to a bad review of one of your books?

Oh wow. Yes, I most certainly have. I’ve had people tell me I shouldn’t quit my day job, and my stories border on kiddie level writing, and way too unrealistic.

Whew, with that said…I just ignore it. I’ve been told by other authors to just ignore it and whatever I do…don’t respond. (Which I have never responded to a reviewer). For every horrible review I get, I get ten great ones. So I understand that I can’t please every single reader. Some will put me on auto-buy…other’s won’t. I’m okay with it. I put my heart and soul into my writing…that’s all I can do.

3.How do you choose what project you’re going to work on next?

I work on whatever hits me. Sometimes I want to continue a series, but I have other characters talking and so that’s what I focus on. It’s whatever is moving me. For those that know my books, I’ve been wanting to put out a sequel to Blue Moon, but God and Day kept talking to me…so I put out ‘Nothing Special’ and I’ve been shocked at the reviews. It’s been #1 in the US and Canada for a week now.

4.What are some of the challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

My biggest challenge is getting the time to write when I run a full-time business and have a large family. Hopefully soon I’ll be able to sell my business and write full-time.

5.Some authors have critique partners, beta readers or are part of groups. Do you work with others to fine tune you’re stories?

I have with all three books. I love beta readers…they’re awesome…and brutally honest. I worked with the LaSalle Sisters from Man2Mantastic Blog on Nothing Special. They critiqued as I wrote. They also came up with the title and wrote the synopsis. I love working with others. My goal is to co-write a book with one of my favorite authors. (G.A Hauser, River James, Sandrine Gasq-Dion)

6.Which story of yours would you like to see brought to film?

I think ‘Nothing Special’ would make a pretty awesome movie. It’s full of police action and very dramatic scenes.

7.What is your favorite spring tradition, if any?

Gardening!! I love working in my yard…making it as colorful as possible.

8.What is the one thing you do after finishing a story?

Take a huge sigh of relief…then jump up and down. (laughing). Seriously, I immediately try to get some betas on it before I even think of sending it to my publisher. I make a ton of revisions, then I send it off on a wing and a prayer.

9.What motivates you to write?

EVERYTHING! Driving, resting, sitting at my desk, chilling at happy hour, partying, watching television, working out. Just about anything will put me in the mood to write. That’s why I carry my journal everywhere, so I can jot down my thoughts.

10.Fun question. Are you an ice cream or cake person?

Both equally…that why I’m on a diet. (smiling)

Nothingspecial

Excerpt ~

Excerpt:

“Good morning, beautiful.” God stroked one finger down his cheek. “I don’t think I’ll ever get tired of waking up like this.

“Mmm. Me neither,” Day agreed while palming God’s hard cock. “Want me to take care of this before breakfast?”

God turned over and picked up his cell phone from the nightstand. “No, babe, I’m actually exhausted. Fuck,” God murmured sleepily. “I need another five hours of rest.”

“No can do, lover. You’re supposed to go to your mom’s today,” Day said to him.

God released an annoyed breath. He didn’t want to think about that just yet. To say he was nervous of speaking with his mom again was the understatement of the century.

“No shit, Sherlock. You really think I need reminding of that? What the fuck would I do if I didn’t have you to keep me on schedule, Leo,” God said sarcastically.

Day didn’t say anything else. He rolled out of bed and went into the bathroom closing the door behind him. Day knew God was stressed about seeing his mom but being an asshole wasn’t going to make it easier. Day did his morning usual and left out the bathroom to see God with his head buried in his hands sitting in the chair in the corner of their bedroom. Instead of possibly pestering his partner even more he decided to just walk past him, get dressed quickly and leave the room.

Day had just finished tying his biking boots and hooking his chain to his belt when God broke their silence.

“Are you gonna act like a bitch for the rest of the day and ignore me, Leonidis? If I wanted to date a sensitive-ass broad, I wouldn’t be here with you,” God said angrily.

Day locked his jaw and counted to ten, silently trying to calm himself. He tried to stay mindful that God was under a lot of stress. There would be some things Day was willing to let slide and other things that would be dealt with in an aggressive manner, and calling him a bitch definitely fell under the extremely aggressive category.

Day yanked his keys off his dresser and turned to glare at God before walking out the door. “You ever call me a bitch again, and I’m gonna show you just how much of a man I am.”

Day walked out the bedroom, down the stairs and straight out the front door. He opened his garage, grabbed his helmet off one of the shelves, straddled his bike, and revved the engine before he sped out his driveway.

Links ~

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Nothing-Special-E-Via-ebook/dp/B00J606B6W/ref=sr_1_3?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1395511504&sr=1-3&keywords=nothing+special

AllRomance: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-nothingspecial-1460172-149.html

Available for Purchase by Publisher: http://amirapress.com/

Author’s Official Website: http://authoraevia.com

Facebook Author Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/aeviaauthor

Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/authoraevia

Twitter: https://twitter.com/AuthorAEVia

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7354860.A_E_Via

Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/A.-E.-Via/e/B00GMNMS4U/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1

1450800_225532627620034_2097788792_n

About the Author ~

A.E. Via is the new best-selling author in the beautiful gay erotic genre. Her writing embodies everything from spicy to scandalous. Her stories often include intriguing edges and twists that take readers to new, thought-provoking depths.

When she’s not clicking away at her laptop, A.E. runs a very successful paralegal-for-hire business, and in her spare time, she devotes herself to her family—a husband and four children, her two pets, a Maltese dog and her white Siamese cat, ELynn, named after the late, great gay romance author E. Lynn Harris.

While this is only her third novel, she has plenty more to come. So sit back and grab a cool drink, because the male on male action is just heating up!

Go to A.E. Via’s official website http://authoraevia.com for more detailed information on how to contact her, follow her, or a sneak peak on upcoming work, free reads, and where she’ll appear next.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

