Skip to content

Meerkats and Alpha Females

by on April 7, 2014

Greetings from the great state of Texas. Hello to all in H-town and surrounding areas. Im enjoying this nice warm weather. My hair thanks you as well. The ‘fro is out in full force, the curls so tight they snap when I comb my hair. 🙂

Our first day here we went to Whataburger, The Zoo and Outback. While we were at the zoo, totally awesome to spend time getting to know my new brother-in-law and niece and nephew, we passed the meerkat exhibit.20140407-081835.jpg

I love meerkats. Ever since my youngest talked me into watching Meerkat Manor, these cute little animals made quite an impression. Meerkats are a matriarchal system. The Alpha female picks her mate based on how well the male can defend himself. Only she is allowed to have children in the group. And it’s really cool to watch the meekkats fight other gangs of meerkats.

Thinking about the Alpha female made me think of Kassanna and her kickaass heroines. She’s definitely one author I know who has that Alpha thing down pact. I have a couple of heroines who can hold their own against the big bad world, but Ms. Kassanna has it down to a science.

I also thought Eve Dallas and Kinsey Milhone or even Goldie Shultz.

So my lovely readers, who are some of your favorite Alpha females?

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

