Skip to content

Honey Wheat Bread

by on April 2, 2014

About six years ago I made an amazing find at a garage sale. A bread machine for only $2.00. The lady said she only used it twice and just didn’t have the time to or inclination to use it more. Now I love homemade bread and I thought, if it’s a bad bread machine I’m only out $2.00. Even if I only make a few loafs of bread, still a good deal. On my travels that day, since it was a city wide sale, I saw other machines for $20 and $40 so I bought the $2.00 bread machine and never looked back. There are many recipes I’ve tried and had great success with using my discount deal of the century, but one of my regulars is a Honey Wheat Bread that is soft and usually devoured with in minutes of taking it out by my family.

1/2 cup warm milk
1/2 cup warm water
1 egg
2 tablespoons butter, softened
3 tablespoons honey
1 1/2 teaspoons salt
2 cups bread flour
1 cup whole wheat flour
2 1/4 teaspoons active dry yeast (that’s one packet if you buy by the packet)

Since this is made in a bread machine you dump in the order listed and set to your desired crust thickness. I’ve started using the dough mixture then pulling it out when done and placing in two loaf pans and letting it rise. Then I place in the oven for 30-35 minutes at 350, but you can also let it cook in the bread machine and still get a great loaf of bread.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. This sounds delicious, think I need to dig out my bread machine now! 🙂

Leave a Reply

