Skip to content

Finding A Theme Song

by on March 8, 2014

One of those weird things about me as a writer, is that I choose a theme song for my romantic couples. I believe the idea springs from an interesting question I was once asked during a job interview for an event planning position. “If you could choose your own theme song, what would it be and why?”

I chose Seasons of Love from the musical Rent as mine. I went on to explain that my personal philosophy, like the song, was that a year in anyone’s life should be measured in the joy they experienced.  Joy in your homelife and your worklife, not that every day is great and not that the work isn’t difficult but that it satisfying. With nifty answer, I got the opportunity to travel across the US as an event planner.

But I digress. We were talking about theme songs for my couples.

Sometimes, it’s so easy to choose one.

During the writing of Deja Vu, I listened to Stay as sung by Rihanna featuring Mikky Ekko constantly. The underlying current of I want you, but I don’t want to want you runs through the song as well as the book. I’ve gotten nothing but praises for this choice.

And then there are times, I’m right and others say I’m wrong.

For the theme song of Amber Grayson and Kevin Miller of the In the Moment and The Beginning of Forever, I chose Blake Shelton’s Who Are You When I’m Not Looking but one lucky winner from a Facebook promotion cemented their song as Lenny Williams’ Cause I Love You.

I had to say that I was bowled over by the line – I watched television until television went off. Now that’s showing Amber’s age. Do you remember a time when you couldn’t watch anything on TV?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5LJHnMKetU8

scentofawitchteaserSo for my latest couple…Ada Trevors, searching for the nugget of truth behind the West Texas legend of a shape-shifter, and Ewan Hathorn, ruler of an ancient tribe which predates Man, what is their theme song?

Up Where We Belong as sung by Joe Cocker and Jennifer Warnes.

“Love lift us up where we belong / Where the eagles cry / On a mountain high / Love lift us up where we belong / Far from the world we know / Up where the clear winds blow.”

Ewan will have to convince himself, Ada and the clans that such a place exists.

Hopefully a publisher will want to find out if the answer is worth knowing, I’ll keep you updated!

~Val

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Reblogged this on valloryv.

Leave a Reply

