Skip to content

Crazy Days of Crazy Weather

by on January 25, 2014

Hubby and I often tell our friends and family about the crazy winter weather we experience here in North Texas. Often we get an eyeroll. Most people think it’s hot summers and mild winters. So did we until we moved here.

For what I’m talking about, take a look at the temps we’ve had for the first few weeks of January.

Weather

If you have trouble viewing the screen shot taken from AccuWeather.com, let me point out a few days that had me sweating, then shivering and back again.

  • January 1 – High of 71 degrees
  • January 2 – High of 43 degrees Nearly a 30 degree drop in 24 hours.
  • January 4 – High of 70 degrees
  • January 5 – High of 60 degrees Nice ease in temps, I could handle this one
  • January 6 – High of 33 degrees Another near 30 degree drop!

And this quick change from short sleeves to light sweater to boots and heavy coats will continue to what March? I never know anymore. All I know is that one day it will be 100 degrees at both nine in the morning and nine at night.

In the midst of this, the family and I try to figure out what to wear the next day and pack lots of tissues. Anyone of us could be sicky on any given day. This week it’s me and the girls. They have Girl Scout cookies to sell and I have recruiting at the day job to do.

We have light snow forecasted for Thursday and a sunny 68 degrees forecasted on the following Sunday.

Achoo!

Needless to say, I haven’t had much time for writing which I think makes dealing with the topsy-turvy weather even worse. And even when I have the time, I’m struggling with a crit partner who questions everything I do. (I mean me). I’m hoping that two days of some sun will lead to two nights of critic free writing and move me one step closer to finishing this piece by the end of January.

And I hope you all are making it through the winter whether you need to be warm or cool or both if you’re in Texas.

Happy Reading Y’all

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

