Skip to content

Writing the Sexy Stuff

by on January 10, 2014

I sent off a copy of my latest WIP to a new critique partner and had to add the note – I write the sex scenes last so they aren’t included.

I don’t know if this odd for a romance writer or not because I’ve never asked.

So I’m asking – do you write sex scenes in the story as it unfolds?

For me, I visualize where they happen and make a note of the tone of the scene. (You know whether Gorilla Love by Bruno Mars is playing in the background or For the Good Times by Al Green.)

Once I’m satisfied with the story as a whole, I go back and write the actual sexy stuff.

Rarely do my critique partners ever read these scenes. I leave this for the editor to tell me if arms and legs and the important parts are in the right place.

But before that happens, I have to be in the mood.

Cocktail partyThere are a few things I need to get me there:

  1. Quiet- The writing music is off. The family is asleep.
  2. Chilled Glass(es) of Wine: Preferably a Chilean Pinot Grigio
  3. Burning Candle: My new favorite scent courtesy of my mother-in-law is cinnamon pecan.

Then after a few agonizing hours, the scenes are written. Voilà!

I’d like to know from both sides-

Readers, how do you think your favorite authors do it?

Writers, what’s the real deal?

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I write them as I go. For me, I feel like they are a big part of plot and character development, and they inform things that come next, so I can’t imagine leaving them till the end and then inserting them.
    It is so interesting to learn how different we all are in our writing habits!

  2. belindaegreen permalink

    Tough to say. I thought all authors wrote the scenes when and where they should be. Your way of writing these scenes is quite interesting. I would wonder tho if your beta readers lost something when an expected love scene isn’t there. How would they know it fits nicely into the flow. Just curious. Obviously, it’s working for you so as they say…. if it ain’t broke…. 🙂 Keep up the great work!

    Take care!

Leave a Reply

