Skip to content

Janet Eckford is in da house! Check out her luscious take on things.

by on December 12, 2013

Hello friends,

Janet Eckford took the time to sit down with us here at Luscious today and she gave us some wonderful insight into her world. I love talking to Janet and have had the pleasure at meeting her in person, She has such a warm and welcoming personality and draws you into her world with big smiles and quick jokes. Now, I haven’t had the chance to check out her books yet but that is about to change I took one look at the pretty cover she brought with her and found my way to Amazon. Take a gander at her interview below. Check out the blurb and snippet too. Janet is an author you don’t want to miss out on.

Talk to you later,

Kass

1.         Give us a brief introduction:  Who are you and what do you do?

I am a pragmatic romantic with periodic hedonistic tendencies. I have been in love with the romance genre as long as I can remember and derive a great deal of pleasure from crafting romantically erotic stories of my own. I’m quirky, sometimes crass, and wholly inappropriate at times but am never malicious, but can be quite snarky when the opportunity arises. I have aspirations of literary world domination but my feline line qualities prevent me from ever putting more than minimal effort into accomplishing them. Most of all I am a crafter and tinkerer of words and invite those interested to explore what my imagination can come up with when it’s committed itself to being naughty.

2.         How do you react to a bad review of one of your books?

If it is a critique that illustrates where my writing can be strengthened and enhanced I welcome it. Anything else, I find doesn’t register on my radar. If one can not give me the curtsey of explaining why they dislike my work beyond, “It’s too short” or a low rating with no explanation, I will not give them the energy of my displeasure.

3.         Are the names of the characters in your novels important?

Characters names are very important to me. Probably too much so, because I’ll often obsess over choosing the perfect name. I am easily distracted and can often spiral into a dark hole of name meanings and how they fit just perfectly with what I have planned for the theme of my story. If I find myself too stymied by names I’ll eventually look around the room I’m in and pick a name from random objects in there. Ha! In the end I do have to get a story written and a name alone won’t get me there.

4.         What are some of the challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

Time is my greatest challenge. As much as I love writing it doesn’t earn me my bread and butter and juggling my day jobs (yes, that’s plural) with writing can often be very daunting. I do think it makes me more focused when I finally get time to sit down and write, which can be both a blessing and a curse. Time is precious and I often worry that if what ever story has caught my fancy is the story. With the help of my great critique partners I’ve learned to ease up a little bit and use time as I see fit. I am my worst critique and time constraints can bring out the worst of my tendencies.

5.         Do you believe in love at first sight?

I believe in attraction, a spark that draws you to another person. I find it hard to believe in love at “first sight” because I believe love encompasses more than just sight. Love is all of the senses and something more that exists just outside our conscious understanding. The initial spark can draw me to someone like the proverbial moth to the flame, but will I discover that their heat can warm me, light my night, and make me feel safe and secure? Or will their flame burn too brightly, scorching me, and repelling me from it because the heat of it is too intense for me to withstand? I can’t believe that happens with just one look but the promise of all that is there in the initial glance and that’s something I can believe in because it is so painfully romantic.

6.         Which story of yours would you like to see brought to film?

As I’m getting swept up in the holiday spirit and I would like to see my shorts in Holiday Hookups get made into a film. They each present their own unique take on the holiday party and I think it would be interesting to see that translated on film. Also, there aren’t enough holiday movies with naughty bits in them. *smirk*

7.         What is your favorite winter holiday tradition, if any?

During the winter holiday I always watch the BBC version of Pride and Prejudice with Colin Firth (as if there is any other adaptation that matters), Love Actually and the BBC version of North and South while I knit or crochet gifts for family and friends. I’ve recently added drinking spiced cider with whisky and am thinking this year I’m going to start making mulled wine. Basically I get nice and buzzed while watching hot British men on screen. *smirk*

8.         What is the one thing you do after finishing a story?

When I finish a story I usually have to not look at it for several days. When I hunker in and finally get all the words on the page it’s quite like purging all of my thoughts out and it can be very exhausting. Once I feel as if I can look at it again I do a read through and make sure there are no plot holes or “what the hell was I thinking”. As my grammar is atrocious I do my best to clean it up a bit before I send it off for submission but there is only so much I can do. The biggest thing I have to be careful of is not nitpick what I’ve written. Once a story is done and my beta’s give me the green light I have to leave it alone. Which can be extremely difficult as I’m never quite sure a story is just right. Ha! I’d never get anything subbed if it wasn’tfor my betas.

9.         What motivates you to write?

Writing is a creative outlet for me. I’ve always enjoyed writing and I couldn’t imagine it not being something I do. I write my particular brand of romance because I feel as if there needs to be stories that exist across a spectrum of what one finds romantic. Be that shifters, sci-fi, horror, contemporary or whatever genre draws someones fancy. I’m also motivated to write stories that have female characters that aren’t normative physically or intellectually. Most importantly I’m motivated to write because women’s exploration and embracing of their sexuality shouldn’t be a taboo

10.  What are the most important elements of good writing, in your opinion?

Honesty is one the most important elements of good writing to me. That doesn’t mean I’ve experienced everything I’ve written about but I believe in the fantasy I’m creating and weave in the truth of my belief in the fact that the characters I’ve imagined could and would experience what I’m writing. If I believe it that belief should reflect in the words and actions of my characters. My belief is illustrated with the time I take with world building (be it paranormal or contemporary), character development, and realism of the plot. My biggest turn off is when I feel as if a writer is trying to con me into believing something that has no plausibility. I hate when it appears as if they are stringing words together they don’t even care about and it feels as if the story is a sham. My suspension of disbelief is extensive (I was raised by a Trekkie) but if there is no honesty in the narrative I lose interest quickly.

JE_AllofMe 1600x2400

Blurb:
As a man who spent the majority of his time calculating for a living there wasn’t much that Grant Carter couldn’t account for. Or so he thought until he found himself suddenly snared by eyes the color of jade and an inviting smile. A smile that haunted him once it was suddenly gone. After one night with Charlie Ambrose he finds himself more than a bit obsessed with the woman who slipped quietly out of his bed leaving a simple note along with the remnants of her scent. When Grant starts his mission to locate her, he wants nothing more than to get her to admit she felt what he did but the moment he lays eyes on Charlie again, it’s brought to his attention that he wasn’t the only one left with a reminder of her time in his bed.
Excerpt:
When he first spotted Charlie Ambrose walking into the hotel bar at the Rome hotel where he was staying, he felt as if the wind had been knocked right out of him. With thick, wavy black hair falling around her shoulders and a coppery bronze complexion that practically glowed in the dim light of the bar, she had mesmerized Grant.
He watched her with a purely male appreciation as she glided toward the bar with the grace of a dancer. The thought of approaching her sprang to his mind, but he dismissed it quickly.  He had completed his business earlier, then had decided to stay a couple of more weeks to get a little R & R. Grant rarely had time to himself, and trying to woo a woman wasn’t initially in his itinerary.  The thought of her helping him relax flittered through his brain as he watched her laugh with the bartender. The unconscious way she threw back her head, and the infectious quality of the throaty sound that sprang from her mouth, had him quickly changing his mind.
From his position at a table set a bit in shadow, Grant was able to look her over in more detail. She was dressed in a simple, flower-print summer dress that wasn’t overtly provocative, not compared to some of the dresses other women were wearing, but there was something extremely sexy about its simplicity. There was a carefree nature to her that drew him in.
He didn’t realize he was staring until she turned as if drawn by his gaze and gave him a quizzical glance. She had one perfectly shaped eyebrow raised in a questioning manner, and Grant couldn’t mistake the quirk of a smile on her lips. He was struck by the emerald color of her eyes even from across the room. It was such a striking contrast to the bronze color of her skin, he couldn’t make himself look away. There was a lazy, feline quality to the shape of her eyes, and when the small smile that played at the corners of her lips blossomed into an open grin, he felt his body tighten with need. He was up and across the room before conscious thought could prevent him from discovering if she purred just like a cat when petted properly.
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

