Skip to content

My Nannie’s Cornbread Dressing

by on November 20, 2013

nannnieandelnaI don’t have a photo to share because I won’t make this until next week. And I realized there aren’t a lot of photos involving my family and food.

We cook, we eat. That’s about it.

But I have included a photo of Nannie (my grandma, sharp looking lady on the left) so you can see exactly who I stole this recipe from.

 

 

Ingredients

1 cup of butter

2 cups diced chicken gizzards

6 hard boiled and diced large eggs

1-3/4 cups diced celery

1 cup chopped onion (we use Vidalia)

Salt and pepper to taste

1-3/4 teaspoons poultry seasoning

1 large pan of cornbread (not the sweet kind) crumbled

1-3/4 cups chicken broth

DIRECTIONS:

1. In a skillet, sauté gizzards in the butter until done. Add celery and onion until tender (yes, we use all that butter). Add in salt, pepper and poultry seasoning. Toss and remove from heat.

2. In a large bowl add crumbled cornbread and the gizzard mixture. Stir in the eggs. Lightly moisten with the broth.

3. Bake in a covered casserole dish for about 40 minutes at 375 degrees.

2 Comments
  1. Kimberly T permalink

    I made this for Thanksgiving. I used 1/2 gizzards and 1/2 ground chicken though. My family loved it. 🙂 Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

