Skip to content

And it’s Sweetest Day

by on October 19, 2013

I have a confession to make. I can never remember when Sweetest Day is. If my hubs hadn’t mentioned it, this would be a very different post right now. So while the rest of America is preparing for Halloween, this holiday is a nice respite from the spook and horror of candy and costumes.images

So here’s a little tidbit about Sweetest Day. It began in 1921, by a Cleveland, OH candymaker C.C. Hartzell. He chaired the committee for the Sweetest Day of the Year and distributed over 20,000 boxes of chocolate.*

Pretty Cool, huh?

Another little tidbit about this holiday. It’s celebrated primarily in the Greats Lakes Region* and the candymakers gathered together to make this holiday a success. Also Hallmark got into the act as well.”

So what are your Sweetest Day plans, or do you even celebrate this Sugary Holiday?

 

* http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sweetest_Day

* http://corporate.hallmark.com/Holiday/Sweetest-Day

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. belindaegreen permalink

    Wow, this is news to me! I have never heard of the day. I followed your link to see what it means. I like the fact that it is celebrated as an occasion to specifically remember the sick, aged and orphaned, but also friends, relatives and associates whose helpfulness and kindness we appreciated. Who doesn’t love candy!….. 🙂

    I’ve noted it on my calendar even though I don’t live in the NE. Thanks for sharing!

    Belinda

    • I love candy too and thought it was pretty sweet. 😛 And you can celebrate it no matter where you are in the world.

  2. Dahlia DeWinters permalink

    I just love the name and the idea behind this.

  3. It is pretty cool.

Leave a Reply

