Skip to content

A Luscious look at New Adult romance…Few Are Angels by Inger Iversen

by on October 17, 2013

A few weeks ago I introduced you to new adult author Inger Iversen and her book, Immortal Heart. We have her back today with the first book in the series, Few are Angels.  Yeah I’m kinda digging this New Adult genre. So check out the blurb and excerpt below.  And as usual lets a girl know what ya think.

Kass

1373026_10151712391176130_1310103521_n

Blurb:

After a fatal hit and run accident, Ella Monroe fears that she’s lost more than her beloved parents. Horrifying visions of a past life and a disturbing voice in her head have psychiatric professionals convinced that she’s lost her sanity as well. But when Kale–a dark and handsome stranger with a mysterious past–reveals the true meaning of her visions and the tremendous power she wields through them, Ella must come to terms with the devastating truths of her own past, while eluding an ancient Dark Prince who seeks to control not only her future, but all of mankind’s, by means of abilities that Ella is only beginning to understand.

Excerpt:

When I opened my eyes, Kale stared down at me. I felt the sheen of sweat as it beaded and chilled on my skin. Kale removed his coat and placed it over me as I shivered. “Do you want me to start the fire again?” he asked. He started to move toward the fireplace, but I reached for him. I didn’t want him to leave my side. The shivers hadn’t yet subsided, and I wasn’t sure I had the strength to stand. Kale wiped my wet cheeks. Though the tears had stopped, my brain still tried to understand all the vision had showed. The Dark Prince would stop at nothing to find me, and that placed the Carltons and everyone else I knew in immediate danger. If that wasn’t enough, the vision Kale had asked me to remember could be the way that Laurent found me. That was most likely why Kale had been so reluctant to tell or show me anything. I finally found the strength to talk, and Kale leaned in close to listen. I closed my eyes. The room was still too bright and my brain felt swollen. “I don’t know what I’m supposed to do, Kale. I can’t stop him—no one can.” I tried to swallow the lump that had settled in my throat. “The only option I see is to die over and over again, and that’s not even a practical solution.” Dying hadn’t worked for Hélène. Yeah, she saved a few lives in her lifetime and Laurent had been searching for the next Arc ever since, but that didn’t stop the deaths of innocent people caught in the cross fire like Anna and Janice. I was sure that there were others. Plus, how many Arcs would have to die this way before it would be over? There were times when I’d wished for my own death after a vision, but I knew now that wasn’t the solution. Kale shifted uncomfortably beside me. “I know what you want to hear, but I can’t tell you that, Ella.” “Why not? Why can’t you say it’s just all in my mind and that things will get better?” I’d begged him to lie to me after demanding the truth all this time. It was ridiculous, and I knew it. “Ella, I’d be lying to you, and I can’t do that. I just can’t. You are an Arc, and you have the ability to recall the past and maybe even see the future. Because of that, there are people out there to protect you and others that want to use you for their own personal gain.” He took my hands. I wanted to pull away, but I didn’t. His touch soothed and grounded me. It took the horrible feeling that had evaded my stomach and masked it and I was grateful, even if it was only for a bit. “I don’t want this,” I whispered. Kale leaned down and kissed my cheek. I turned and faced him. My heart ached for his touch, as had Hélène’s the night she found he’d been turned. She feared him, but more than that, she wanted to kiss him one last time. She could feel it in every nerve in her body. The pull to him was so great she was forced to fight it until the end. Kale’s face was so close to mine, his breath warm and sweet, and I wanted more than anything to feel his mouth as it molded against mine. “I’ll do my best to protect you, Ella.” I moved closer to Kale, and he cradled my head in his hand. There was no time to be shy. My heart took control, and I reached behind his head and pulled Kale to my lips. Kale’s lips felt exactly how I knew they’d feel. Soft, yet demanding, Kale gently parted my lips with his tongue and I was helpless to comply. My whole body felt alive with sparks of electricity, and every place Kale touched burned deliciously. I tried to control my breathing, but it seemed impossible as the kiss grew more passionate. I pulled Kale closer and arched my body into him, and he accepted me completely with a groan of satisfaction. Kale’s arms buckled around us and he fought to keep himself elevated above me. As the kiss intensified, Kale pressed his body closer to mine, stealing the last of my breath. This was easier for him; he didn’t need to breathe. I placed my hands on his chest and softly pushed forward. Kale lifted himself with his elbow, which allowed me to take the breath I so desperately needed.

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Few-Are-Angels-Volume-ebook/dp/B0086Z2KT0/ref=tmm_kin_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1345696321&sr=8-1

BN: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/few-are-angels-inger-iversen/1111266976?ean=9780615650432

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/few-are-angels

 

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

