Skip to content

A Year in a Luscious Life

by on October 11, 2013

In 2012 I was asked by the fantastic author, Kassanna , to be a contributor to this wonderful blog. I remember asking my daughter to read the email to make sure that I wasn’t misunderstanding the intent and winding up embarrassed. But it was true ! On October 8, 2012 I penned my first post, Scary Movies for Cuddling!

In that vein, I’ll give  you my real life brush with the supernatural. Fitting because it’s my anniversary and because it’s all things scary this month!

Jackson SquareIn a previous life, I was an Assistant Front Desk Manager for the Bourbon Orleans Hotel in New Orleans. If you haven’t heard of it, it is one of the most haunted places in America.  (For ghost hunters, I’m sure this is on your must-visit list.) You see the building was originally constructed to be a premiere ballroom for wealthy plantation owners to introduce their quadroon (1/4 black) and octoroon (1/8 black) daughters to other wealthy plantation owners.

Well, the Civil War breaks out and the Bourbon Orleans becomes a military hospital. Thousands died within its wall with a bullet between their teeth and a shot of whiskey as their limbs were hacked off with tools on loan from the blacksmith.

Some time after the War, the order of the Holy Family nuns acquire the building for use as an orphanage. And…there’s an outbreak of Yellow Fever. Supposedly, over two hundred nuns and children died within the building before the disease ran its course.

Which brings me to my story –

For the first time in three months, the Front Desk Manager was working the night shift on a Friday. I had the opportunity to have an after-work drink with my friends in the Quarter before I had to get home to hubby and kiddos. As part of the end of shift report, I had to walk the floors of the hotel. I was just making sure that lunches had been removed and there were no water stains on the carpet. Easy Peasy.

My friend, who was a Sales Assistant, joined me so that we could scoot right out of the hotel into a bar. We started on the first floor and made our way up to the fifth floor. The fifth floor was supposed to be the easiest because at the time, the floor was being renovated and there were no guests.

As we walked around the floor we both noticed a thumping on the wall next to us. Construction , we thought and continued our leisurely stroll. Then with each step we took, there was a THUMP.

THUMP. THUMP. THUMP. Followed us step by step.

I looked at her and we started running toward the end of the hallway…to the elevator of the uninhabited floor.

Turning the corner that should have been empty, I noticed a flash of something as if I was seeing the shoe of someone who turned the corner. I was slower than my friend and she reached the elevator first. She screamed and then I screamed because she was screaming. “Little girl, little girl” she screamed. I punched the elevator buttons with my eyes closed. If some thing was behind or beside me, I didn’t want to actually see it. Ever.

The thumping stopped as we got on the elevator and I opened my eyes again.

There were a lot of drinks that night.

For more on the haunted history of the Bourbon Orleans, click here!

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. corablu permalink

    Funny 🙂

  2. Please, I consider us lucky to have you and so many other talented, phenomenal authors. 🙂

  3. Having read this I believed it was extremely informative.
    I appreciate youu takjng the time and energy
    to put this content together. I once again find myself personaly spending a lot of time both reading
    and posting comments. But so what, it was still worthwhile!

Leave a Reply

