Skip to content

Luscious explores Immortal Heart with Inger Iversen

by on October 1, 2013

Hey folks,

So there is this emerging genre called new adult.  I was a bit confused. Was this a new name you Young adult, a genre that to my knowledge had been around for quite a while? I admit I don’t stay in the loops when it comes to certain things so when I saw the new adult category on Amazon I was intrigued. Like a kid with a shiny new toy, I had to look around, I wanted to know more about these books. I came across this writer, Inger Iversen and her series A Few Are Angels. Needless to say, me being me, I wanted to talk to this author and find out more. Short of stalking her I did get a interview and of course an explanation. New adult is and extension of young adult for that slightly older generation of eighteen year – olds to twenty somethings who have lost interest in tween young adult books but aren’t quite ready for the older lets -live -happily ever- after  hardcore romance either.  Yeah it blew my mind too.  🙂  So check out the interview and the pretty which is really well gorgeous. But don’t stop there. Keep reading the blurb. Let me know what you think because personally I found another book to add to my TBR pile.

Kass

Interview ~

 

1.            What books have most influenced your life most?

I don’t have one book in particular. I think every book I’ve read has influenced me in one way or another. Most books have showed me what not to do as an author, how to become a better writer or even a better person.

2.            Do you see writing as a career or as merely a hobby?

I never thought I’d have a job that I loved. It’s true, even in college I went to classes with the idea that I needed to make a difference in America’s school system. I didn’t think I was going to like being a teacher, I just truly believed that I would be good at it. Half way through I knew that I had made a mistake and that I wanted to follow my dream to become a writer. I think an insider looking in will say that my writing is a career, a family member would call it a hobby, but I just call it following my dreams.

3.            Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I always add a piece of myself to my characters. With Kale, I added an uncertainly, the fear of losing oneself when someone who held you heart dies. I let my fear live in him to escape it. The message that was intended, and not old news, is that real love lasts forever. Even in death the people you love will always be with you, because with true love, they become a part of you and as long as you live, they do too.

4.            Which characters will did you find hardest to part with?

This is an ongoing series, so when I made the choice that someone was going to die I had to wonder how my characters, Ana in particular, would be affected by it, but it turns out I loved him too much to let him go…

5.            While you were writing, did you ever feel as if you were one of the characters?

I do. The scene I wrote between Hélène, Kale and Ella was really emotional and I shed a tear or two. I’ve beaten and broken my characters and it’s hard. I often find myself feeling like a damned bully.

6.            What would you be doing if you didn’t write books?

If I wasn’t writing I’d be reading all day every day.

7.            Who was your favorite author when you were growing up?

Ernest Hemingway was my favorite author in high school and his book “Of Mice and Men. I think at that time I was really big into true friendships and when I read that book it taught me something about sacrifice that I didn’t know before.

8.            What do you wish you had known when you were starting out?

Man, I wished I’d realized that there are a lot of things in this game that you don’t have to pay someone to do! Formatting is easy as sin and there are people out there that will charge you an arm and a leg for 30 minutes of work.

9.            Hot or cold cider?

Hot cider, outside wrapped in a warm snuggie and footie socks.

10.          Do you go apple or pumpkin picking? Haunted  hay rides?  What are your fall traditions?

Baking apple pies and smothering them in ice cream, sitting on the balcony with family members reminiscing. My fall tradition is to be as lazy as possible right through to winter.

1376867_10151695510706130_1842309663_n

Blurb ~

Immortal Heart – More than a century after the tragedy of Hélène’s death and before Ella found Kale bruised and broken on her doorstep, Kale moved through the world in a haze of personal punishment allowing it to consume him. Until his friend, Detective Deacon, a newly infected Chorý calls on him for a favor.

In this prequel to the Few Are Angels series, Kale is thrown into a world of human blood trafficking and is introduced to a Chorý that offers him a chance at happiness— in blood

Buy Links ~

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00FH067GY

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/immortal-heart-1

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. belindaegreen permalink

    It was nice to meet Inger Iversen! Great interview Kass! It’s always good to get some insight into the authors psyche. Thanks also for the New Adult definition. The genre is certainly growing in popularity. I’m still not what’s prompting it. But each to his/her own. Much success to Inger!

    Thanks again for sharing!

    Belinda G

Leave a Reply

