Skip to content

Training for NaNoWriMo 2013

by on September 28, 2013

Segretaria stressataNational Novel Writing Month 2013 is closer than you may think and it’s time to start training.

Last year, I joined this annual frantic race to complete a 50,000 word novel in thirty days. Like a sprinter, I jumped off the starting block and started furiously typing just after midnight on November 1, 2012.

The first five days, I wrote every night making sure to hit my 1667 word count. The story was evolving in front of my eyes and I was thrilled. Fueled by coffee and chocolate, I powered forward through my second weekend of writing.

That’s when I finished. Not a novel, but the story.

There was nothing left to write. I had hit the wall with about 23,000 words. Over the next few weeks, I tried and tried to add dialogue, descriptions and additional characters. Nope, it was the end. I failed.

This year will be different, though! I started NaNoWriMo 2012 with an idea.

This year, I’m giving the Muse everything she needs to win the race:

ID-10080550

  • Characters: My cast of characters has been set, including my first African American hero. Take a moment to salivate over Xavier Loving.
  • Research Notes: I’ve almost completed the work on researching certain points such as weather patterns, occupational challenges and international flight patterns.
  • Outline: I’m starting an outline. Not something skimpy, but a detailed chapter by chapter analysis of scene setting and action needed!

I’m excited again and determined to have a finished novel by midnight on November 30, 2013!

Wish me luck!

And if you’d like to join me, check out the official website at: http://nanowrimo.org/en/dashboard

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. belindaegreen permalink

    Vallory,

    I have my fingers crossed and sending good vibes your way. You look like you are prepared and ready for success. It’s good to know you are excited about the process and raring to start which is always a plus! I believe you got this. 🙂

    Good Luck Lady.

    Belinda G
    belgre at comcast dot net

  2. Thank you Belinda!

Leave a Reply

