Skip to content

Who Inspired my Romantic Heroine?

by on September 14, 2013

I was once a hotel sales manager. I began my career like most managers do as an assistant. My job was to manage my manager. I made sure she appeared at her appointments, made sure her contracts were professional and accurately worded, made sure she talked to only those she wanted to talk to. You get the idea.

During that year and half , I learned quite a bit about the art of a sale. I also learned that being pretty didn’t hurt your chances at closing a deal.

MihaelaTake for instance, my manager. She wasn’t very tall but clicked around the office in four-inch heels like she was over six-feet tall. She had this blond-gold hair that curled past her shoulders and an engaging, laughing smile. Let me put it like this, the woman was gorgeous.

She was also one of the top sales managers in the office.

Did the other managers applaud her? No, they snickered. It was easier on their egos to believe that she got the deals she did because her skirts were fitted and a few buttons were undone.

She had them all fooled. The woman was super-smart, compiled detailed notes on potential clients and spent hours trolling the internet for new prospects. Throw that in with a pretty smile and well, she’d just moved our hotel to some organization’s short list.

Over drinks one night, she actually paraphrased a popular rap song of the time – “You gotta use what your mama gave you.”

When I started taking writing seriously, I knew that she was going to have a story. From this confident, sexy woman Darcey St. Claire was born.

Of course there are differences between the two. My manager was a blonde from an old New Orleans family. Darcey is a first generation American of English and Jamaican ancestry with springy brown hair and hasn’t yet reached thirty.

What they share is universal. The want to love and be loved.

My manager got her hubby and said good-bye to the hotel business. But what about Darcey?

You’ll have to read, Déjà Vu to find out.

AmazonCoverOne week has passed since Darcey St. Claire, a sales manager for a posh French Quarter hotel, broke the cardinal rule of sales – you don’t sleep with your client. Against her better judgement, she agrees to an even more egregious breach of her hotel contract.

A real date with the handsome former quarterback to take place over the course of a weekend. For both she and Vincent, it was only supposed to be one weekend.

Beginning a campaign to become the governor of Louisiana, Vincent Guidry’s plans are halted when his feelings for Darcey become more than sexual and the young woman cuts all ties with him. Her appearance in his office, seven weeks after their break-up, begins a backward journey to right the wrongs of their separate pasts.

Is a shared forever possible?

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. belindaegreen permalink

    Ok, so I’m off to buy this book too! I’m loving the back story and the book blurb. De’ja VU, here I come, where I’ve been….I think? 🙂

    Belinda G
    belgre @ comcast dot net

  2. Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

