Skip to content

It is fall right?

by on September 9, 2013

 

Okay, I admit it, I made pumpkin pie yesterday, not one, but two. I know it’s early September and blasphemy, but I’ve been craving pumpkin pie since July.  See here in the Minnesota tundra we usually have a good two to three months of sweltering heat.  Usually being the key word. By July Fourth we should be at peak sweat your ass off weather. Not this year.

 

No, this year it was a tepid if not almost cooler summer. Which made my taste buds switch to fall weather too early and I couldn’t go back.  Now I controlled myself for a good two months of cravings so I get points for that right?  And football had official started, no preseason, college attacks going back and forth on Facebook like nobody’s business. That’s fall right?

 

I could say yes, but it appears fall and summer swapped this year in the great tundra because we’ve been in a tremendous heat wave.  My taste buds may never recover.  I didn’t crave the fresh melon and berries I usually do in summer and I’m now stuck with two pumpkin pies in ninety-degree weather.

 

It’s just wrong.  Wrong, wrong, wrong.

 

I know it’s fall.  My bank account has been drained with back to school fees, clothes and supplies.  My son has once again aged me by having a birthday.  Fall has begun.

 

Has the weather been wonky where you live?  Am I the only one who has seasonal cravings?  Let me help get you into the fall season with a giveaway of my book Fall Sports.  I’ll pick a winner at random from comments.

FallSports_Cover

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. I just had to laugh with you about the weather! I live in Seattle and we are known for rain, rain and more rain! Not this year! We have had record breaking heat! It’s almost like living in the south. We have been in the 80s and 90s all summer long with NO rain! It’s continuing! Ugh! I grew up in the south with no desire to return. Tooo freaking hot! 🙂

    Now let’s talk about those pumpkin pies! Freeze those babies, lady! That way you will have a stash when you have that burning desire to indulge! Sorry, I couldn’t resist! 🙂

    I know how you feel about school and all its’ demands. It’s exhausting. Thankfully, I’m well pass that.

    So with that I’ll close. Take care.

    Belinda G
    belgre at comcast dot net

    • samanthapleasant permalink

      Please one of those pies is already gone.

  2. LOL! Welll….alright then! 🙂

Leave a Reply

