Skip to content

Our Independence Day 2013

by on July 22, 2013

This will be our Independence Day

flying saucer arrivedFor fans of the 1996 blockbuster, Independence Day, you’ll recognize this as Bill Pullman’s line in his speech after mankind’s successful fight against the alien invaders. This year was supposed to be our Independence Day again – in 3D! Well fans, that’s not happening. According to an article in The Week, we’ll have to wait until 2015 for a sequel.

I’ve waited almost twenty years so what’s two more? I keep the family interested by making them watch it at least six times a year. My youngest daughter is now a fan as well and we recite two of our favorite lines along with our favorite characters:

Jimmy (Harry Connick, Jr): Let’s kick the tires and light the fires, big daddy!

***

Steven (Will Smith): I ain’t heard no fat lady!

David (Jeff Goldblum): Forget the fat lady. You’re obsessed with this fat lady. Just get us out of here!

Heavy sigh…two more years.

So I’m picking and choosing through the other must-see films of the summer. Who has gotten and who may get a substantial chunk of my summer 2013 entertainment fund?

The Great Gatsby – Loved it. Can’t wait for it to hit Netflix so I can watch it again and again. The cinematography was breathtaking and the acting was wonderful. I love the sexier version of the story and still thought it maintained the eerie darkness just below the glam.

Star Trek: Into the Darkness – Plan on watching this after the summer camps are over for the kiddoes. Daughter would kick me if I saw this one without her.

Man of Steel: This has been highly recommended by my brother, but I’m still wavering on it.

World War Z: Freaked me out. Husband tried to make it better by saying that during an actual zombie apocalypse, the zombies couldn’t run that fast. That didn’t help.

White House Down and The Lone Ranger round out my personal must-sees for the summer.

Are there any other movies, I need to add to my list?

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I love Independence Day. Saw it again for perhaps the 100th time yesterday. 🙂

Leave a Reply

