Skip to content

DD Symms shares a first with Luscious

by on July 2, 2013

DD Symms Guest Post

Lynn, thanks so much for having me. It’s an honor and pleasure. My first published novel, Boarding, is releasing July 19 and I’m hard at work on my next one. A young fashion designer gets a sudden chance to design for a renowned model and has several key obstacles to overcome.

I enjoyed the questions and I find no matter an author’s style or source of inspiration, fiction in all genres requires focused discipline.

 

Who’s your favorite author to take to the beach or on a vacation?

John Grisham. I like how he uses seemingly ordinary details – almost boring – and yet suspense develops. I’ve read a few of his novels now and I may be looking for a new favorite. I like Anita Shreve, too, and Nicholas Sparks.
Does your writing schedule change in the summer? If so, how?

I try to stay steady with writing late mornings, early afternoons, and night.
When do you do your best work? Are you a night owl or an early bird?

Early morning is one of my favorite times. Late at night, though, the house is more quiet (out house has gone 24 hours per day—seriously—for many years) and there are no phone calls or demands to interrupt. When I have energy, my favorite time is 9pm to 11pm.
Do you use any software programs such as Scrivener or Page Four to help you write?

Nope and I’ve not entertained the idea. I like to write the Old Fashioned Way – on the fastest laptop possible and a Word doc. I will look into the software for the future just to see how it works.
Pictures or music or other art – What inspires you?

I often log on to the Piano Guys on YouTube and listen while I write. Daryl Hall and John Oates inspire me, too. Maybe it’s because I respect them as artists. Pasadena has several museums and art galleries around and I peek in when I can. Music is the most portable form of inspiration for me, though.
What is your favorite summer snack?

Hmm, a bit more than a snack. Last summer, I discovered green smoothies made with a mix of veggies and fruit!
It’s a warm summer Friday night. What are you doing?

Sitting on the back patio or else walking the dog. In So Cal, I enjoy the long summer nights. The weather is warmer than winter but not the extreme difference as in much of the country.

 

Boarding, releasing July 19

Blurb

Forced to choose between the love of her life and the chance of a lifetime, Jessie Carter discovers true friends are life’s greatest pleasure.

 

Boarding 200x300

 

Amazon, DD Symms http://www.amazon.com/DD-Symms/e/B004WGQ6KG/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1372365027&sr=8-1

All Romance eBooks, DD Symms

https://www.allromanceebooks.com/storeSearch.html?sortBy=bestSelling&searchBy=author&qString=DD+Symms#

 

Website: http://ddsymms.wordpress.com
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4766028.D_D_Symms

Twitter: @DD_Symms
Facebook.com/DDSymms
Pinterest.com/ddsymms

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Thanks for having me and you’ve got a terrific site.

Leave a Reply

