Skip to content

Weddings Galore!

by on June 22, 2013

June! The month of weddings and I love it!

From the walk down the aisle to the tear in the groom’s eye to the kiss that begins forever. So beautiful.Bridal portrait.

But what I really love are those touches that can make the event unique.

After living together for ten years and having two children, friends of mine finally decided to tie the knot. They did it on Thanksgiving Day in their living room wearing Saints’ jerseys with their children serving as best man and maid of honor. Very special.

And I will never forget another friend sauntering down that center aisle. She was absolutely beaming while her groom was visibly having a breakdown. She reached him and hugged him. We all saw him take a deep breath, nod his head. Oh, the image still makes me want to cry. I have yet to ask what she whispered in his ear. That’s for them.

Ohhh…and the one that makes me laugh is what my little group of friends calls the Kentucky / New Orleans reception. One of my college friends was from Lexington, Kentucky and she married a New Orleans boy from a New Orleans family.

During the wedding ceremony, the sides are divided – his and hers. But at the reception, you’ll find yourself asking – “Friend of the groom or the bride?”

Not so much at this one. All the dj had to do was play a New Orleans song and you knew. I watched a seventyish year old man drop it like it was hot. And his wife wave a white napkin over him on his descent. Groom’s family! I don’t think the Kentuckians knew what they were in for.

So happily, I’ll be wearing heels and trying to keep my son from pushing over an ornate table display for two weekends out of this month. I’m so excited for both couples.

And knowing what I know about them, I’m positive that their beginning didn’t start out like Vincent Guidry’s and Darcey St. Claire’s. But I’m hopeful that it will end the same. Take a look at this snippet from Dèjá Vu for what I mean:

AmazonCover“You could work for me. I told you about the reception hall in the Northern Bluffs.”

Her head popped up, bright eyes and a seductive smile. “You just want me at your disposal.”

He did. He wanted her all the time. He hadn’t felt like this since Melissa three years ago; an attorney he’d met at some event. In the end, Melissa hadn’t been able to deal with his work schedule and he hadn’t been willing to deviate from it.

But for Darcey.

He had rescheduled meetings, delegated authority, actually taken a vacation to be close to her and have those bright eyes shining down on him.

“I love you.” The words were expelled by the crushing sensation in his chest and he waited.

What he wanted was for her to say that she loved him as well. What he expected was an argument about the nothing serious rule. What she did was startling.

Darcey backed away from him as if he had mutated into some sort of monster. “I’m tired. I think I’m going to take a shower and go to bed. I have to be up early.” She flew out of the room.

That was their end. The sinking feeling in his belly and the emptiness of the room told him he was right. Apparently, what lay beyond nothing serious was a deal breaker.

Dèjá Vu is available from All Romance, Amazon, Barnes & Noble and Smashwords.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

