Skip to content

A simple summer sandwich

by on June 12, 2013

We all have those seasonal foods.  For me in the fall I start craving pumpkin, in the winter I go for thick chowders and in the summer I just love a simple pocket sandwich.  For some reason I can’t eat this sandwich any other time of the year.  As the temperature rises I start eyeing the avocados.

 

Ingredients

1 ripe avocado

1 Roma tomato

alfalfa sprouts

mayo

wheat bread peta pocket bread.

 

Line the inside of the peta pocket with mayo.  Dice the avocado into 1/4 inch pieces and place inside the pocket. Dice the tomato and place the next layer of the sandwich.  Top with alfalfa sprouts.  This sandwich is simple and bursting with wonderful summer flavors…and is one of the few healthy things I can eat everyday.

Image courtesy of Grant Cochrane at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Grant Cochrane at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I’ll have to try this one. Sounds interesting.

Leave a Reply

