Skip to content

We got Cover Artist Melissa Stevens to share a little of her work with Luscious.

by on June 11, 2013

Hey peeps,

I got a little something for ya. An interview with another cover artist. She has been quietly taking names and rocking out.  Her name is Melissa and she took some time to sit down with us here at Luscious. It’s amazing the things you learn about people during the interview process. Check out what she has to say below.

Interview

  1. What’s your snack of choice for a hardcore creative session?

Sweet Tea and pretty much anything chocolate.

  1. What is your favorite part of the creative process?

The beginning. That entire blank canvas, just waiting for color, for my ideas to converge and become real.

  1. What do you like best (or least) about your art?

There is no greater feeling than when your art connects with someone. It bridges an unseen gap that gives two (or more) people something in common.

  1. What are your hobbies when you’re not making pretty things?

Right now, not much. I have a four year old, and she keeps me pretty busy. I love playing the piano (I also give lessons), writing, cross-stitching,  gardening and photography.

  1. Describe your workspace.

A very cluttered desk. 🙂 Because I do all my work on the computer through Adobe and Corel, my desk is full of papers, computer disks, and various office supplies that I rarely use. (Stapler, pencil sharpener, push pins) I keep a white board beside me in case inspiration strikes, or I find a website I want to remember later.

  1. Favorite art piece?

Really, that’s not fair. I have so many, and each artist is special in his/her own way. If I had to pick a favorite artist … I need two. Dali and Escher. I love the surrealism in each.

  1. Do you have a favorite book cover, if so why?

I do not have a favorite book cover. Each cover is unique to the book itself. I enjoyed Stephen King’s early covers that really promoted artistic paintings. Now, the style for covers have become more simplistic, in order for them to stand out in a digital crowd. And I like those as well, though there is nothing quite like an 80’s paperback.

  1. What’s the one place you’d most like to visit someday?

Scotland. I’ve been once, many years ago, and the culture and inspiration abound through the countryside and entwines in the castles. I loved it, and have placed it back on bucket list, this time to travel with family.

  1. How do you decide when a piece is finished?

I don’t think a piece is ever truly finished. More, its far enough along, that if I keep adding, I will detract from the art. I know when I’m close to completion, and will then send it along to the client. When I ‘hear’ the words, ‘you’ve nailed it,’ or ‘I’m crying right now,’ I know I’m finished, and all that is left is tweaking.

  1. Tell us about graphic art, walk us through your process?

If it is for a book cover, I always ask for a synopsis, the character descriptions, and as much detail as I can learn about the book from the author, and if they have any thoughts on the cover as well. Usually, after reading about the book, I have a feel for the colors I want to use, and start with a base, then work my way up. I’ve gotten better, when I first started, I usually went through four different ideas before something ‘clicked.’ As I work, it becomes a large puzzle, and all the pieces have to fit. When they do, they ‘click,’ and I can move on to the next part. I have literally spent days on the placement of an eye, waiting for that feeling that it is just right. I always keep the client in mind, and send out previews each time I do something significant to the cover. If it is a fully illustrated cover, I usually send out previews every four days, until both the client and myself feel it is complete.

Art is a gut feeling, in my eyes. What moves one person, will do nothing for another. It is my job to pull at that gut from every person that lays eyes on my work. While I realize that is impossible, I wouldn’t be an artist if I tried for anything less.

Meet the digital artist

Hometown: Andersonville, TN

Hobbies: Writing, playing the piano, cross-stitching, gardening, photography, knitting; just about anything crafty

Favorite indulgence: Spending the entire day with a good book. One I don’t get very often, but still a favorite.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Feel free to visit my website, I forgot to give a link! http://www.theillustratedauthor.net

    Thanks, Melissa

  2. Love the interview. I was looking for a link so I could check out your cover designs but I didn’t see any.

Leave a Reply

