Skip to content

Dreams 2 Media give us the low down on all things art.

by on May 16, 2013

Today I have Rebecca from Dreams 2 Media in the hot seat. Usually I have an author fill us in on their latest releases or give us a quick snapshot of their lives. We are traveling a different path today. I’d like to look at another  aspect of the publishing industry. So who better to ask than my girl at Dreams 2 Media. Rebecca is my go to girl when I need promotional items for my books. She took some time today to sit down with us here at Luscious and gave me an interview. After viewing her work and working with her, I have to say, the woman is hella talented.  But don’t take my word for it. Check her out for yourself. I’ve peppered her work through out the blog. Let me just say she can do a multitude of mediums like book covers, posters, book trailers, etc. I could go on but I (personally) have my favorites so if you want to meander through her art visit her site. The address is below. Later Peeps, Kass

0.1

 

1.  What’s your snack of choice for a hardcore creative session?  Green tea.  Once a fresh cup is in hand, I’m in the zone.

2.  What is your favorite part of the creative process?  I find the most joy when I can see how the project is coming together, sort of like a puzzle.  At first, it can be frustrating because not everything fits, but once the pieces start joining, I can see magic happen, and that is a fabulous feeling.

3.  What do you like best (or least) about your art?  The thing I love best about my art is that it’s very eclectic.  I enjoy working with different genres and mediums, and I love seeing how I can mix things up.  The thing I hate least about my art is how sometimes creating is effortless and other times, it takes so much energy to create I feel drained and exhausted.

4.  What are your hobbies when you’re not making pretty things?  I am a voracious reader and will read almost any genre.  I also love video games and I’m currently trying to find time to play Guild Wars 2.  I’m a big geek and am planning a trip to dragoncon over Labor Day weekend, so we’re working on costumes as well.

5.  Describe your workspace.  On my desk is a little guy riding a turtle my Daddy got me many moons ago.  He’s made of seashell and just really cute.   I have a dual monitor set up, which is a must.  I also have a Wacom tablet (it’s pretty old currently, but it gets the job done.)  My desk is messy and cluttered right now, so it’s time for spring cleaning.

6.  Favorite art piece?  Oh, man.  That’s like asking a mother to choose her favorite child.  😛  I have a few artists who are my favorites, thought.  Larry Elmore is my idol, and someday, I would love to do an homage to him.  Other favorites are Daniel Dos Santos, Chris McGrath, MC Escher, and Georgia O’Keefe.  There are many other artists I adore but these are the top ones I think of.

7.  Do you have a favorite book cover, if so why?  I have two favorite covers that pop to mind immediately.  The first is for Dragons of Spring Dawning, written by Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman, designed by Larry Elmore.  It’s when I fell in love with high fantasy and it featured my favorite anti-hero, Raistlin.  My other favorite cover is for Frost Burned, written by Patricia Briggs, and Daniel Dos Santos created the painting of Mercy Thompson for the cover.  The detail is fantastic and I love the look he gave Mercy.  She just looks so badass and all she’s doing is leaning against her Volvo Rabbit.

8.  What’s the one place you’d most like to visit someday? I would love to visit Japan.  I love Japanese culture and I dream of visiting the temples.

9.  How do you decide when a piece is finished? Honestly, I am never finished in my mind.  I can always find something I could improve upon, tweak, or change.  Sometimes, I just have to let the client tell me if I’ve done their vision justice, and leave it at that.

10.  Tell us about graphic art, walk us through your process?  Well, for example, if I’m doing a book cover, I like to ask my client about the story.  I need to know what head space to be in.  I usually get a character description, what their vision is for the cover, the genre of the story, and the overall ‘feel’ of the story.  I do my best to take my client’s vision and bring it to life.  Sometimes I spend hours perusing stock photo sites for that perfect picture for photomanipulation, or I can spend a couple of days creating a custom character render for their cover.  It all depends on what will work to get a potential reader to pick up the book.  A cover’s job is get the reader’s attention and I try very hard to make beautiful covers that grab you.

0.1

Meet the digital artist

Hometown:  Glennville, Georgia

Hobbies:  Reading, Video games, cosplay, and spoiling my cats.  They’re like my children.

Favorite indulgence:  Homemade pesto sauce.  That stuff is like crack to me.

0.1

My business site is www.dreams2media.com and you can find premade covers, my portfolio, pricing schedule, and more there.  If you’d like to peruse my artwork, www.bekkoyochi.deviantart.com is where I post most of my fractal art pieces and renderings.  I can also be reached via email at Rebecca@dreams2media.com if you’d like to discuss a potential project with me.

0.1

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. janus gangi permalink

    Love this piece and finding out more about Rebecca. She has been my graphic artist now for about a year. I am amazed by her talent. As far as I am concerned Dreams2media has a client for life.

  2. Thank you so much for having me! I really enjoyed the interview and had a lot of fun answering the questions. 🙂

Leave a Reply

