Skip to content

Tyler Robbins Shares A Beautiful Lie with Luscious

by on May 2, 2013

The story behind the story…

Most stories come from somewhere other than just someone’s imagination. Inspiration can strike a writer at the oddest times and in the oddest ways. My story, A Beautiful Lie, came to me in a way I never expected.

I’m a fan of all types of music. With a house full of teenagers, I could be listening to Jay-Z one minute, George Strait another, and as luck would have it, FUN. the next.

While transporting my kids to one of their many important after-school activities, I happened to be listening to the radio and singing along with FUN. , enjoying their hit song, Some Nights.

In my usually goofball way, I discovered I’d been singing one of my favorite verses wrong, and never even knew it. That lyrical blunder is actually what stirred my muse, and as I drove along the story just came to me.

Which lyric sparked the creative fires, you may ask? Well, I’ll tell you…

‘My heart is breaking for my sister and the con that she called “love”… When I look into my nephew’s eyes … Man, you wouldn’t believe the most amazing things that can come from … Some terrible nights …’

In my head, I heard, ‘terrible lies rather than ‘terrible nights’, and originally thought to name the story as such, but as I played around with the title, I decided that my story differed just a bit.

If you know the song, then you’ll understand my thought process as you read the book. The opening verse itself, tugged at my heartstrings, and seemed to speak directly about my hero, Jesse Reagan. His life has been about as rough as it can get, but through it all, he manages to persevere. I really like that about him.

In a way, the entire song sort of became Jesse’s anthem, though he never mentions that in the story. It’s probably best described as a personal feeling he and I share, only adding to something Jesse does say in the book… “Some truths are terrible, and should never be spoken aloud, but then, there are some truths that are so spectacular they take your breath away.”

For me, the ability to turn a lie into a truth and still see the beauty in it… Damn, we should all be so lucky to see life that way.

16+ Excerpt (adult language)

Jesse lay beside Trip and pulled Trip to him. Jesse’s chest flattened against Trip’s back. He rested his chin on Trip’s shoulder and kissed Trip’s neck. “Last night was hard and crazy. Tonight should be different.”

The way Jesse spoke made Trip wonder what the other man truly felt. Had what happened between them last night been as serious as Trip had first thought? Jesse’s initial resistance was nowhere to be found now. In fact, he seemed to be encouraging something more. If only Trip knew for sure.

Trip nodded as he reached back and caressed Jesse’s thigh. Despite the thin layer of hair, Trip had never felt skin so soft.

Jesse slipped his arm around Trip’s torso and rubbed his chest, then gently kissed Trip’s shoulder-blade.

Trip closed his eyes, trying to recall the last time anyone had shown this much tenderness, expressed this much emotion. Fuck. Would he fall even harder now? Could he let that happen? Panic overwhelmed him, and Trip pulled away causing Jesse’s arm to fall behind him.

“What is it?”

Trip shook off a chill provoked by the underlying concern in Jesse’s voice. He pivoted toward Jesse, who had already sat up, his body glistening from the glow of the fire.

Trip pressed his lips together, unsure about how honest he should be. Too much sincerity might be a sign of weakness, and Jesse made him feel vulnerable enough as it was. “I’m not used to the slow stuff.”

A shaky smile turned up the corners of Jesse’s lips. “Me either, but if this is gonna happen—Fuck, I don’t know.” He shook his head as though trying to figure out what he wanted to say. “If I’m gonna let myself feel anything, it might as well be with the first guy I ever imagined doing it with.”

Trip narrowed his eyes. “I was your first fantasy?”

“Fantasy? Fuck, Trip, you were the first guy who ever made my dick hard.”

Heat flushed Trip’s cheeks and throat, and he laughed. “No shit?”

“I didn’t follow you around because of a teenage crush. I followed you because I wanted to see how you liked to kiss, how you moved. I wanted to learn everything about you, not because I wanted to be like you, but because I wanted to be with you.”

“Damn. If I’d only known…” Trip eased back and brushed the edge of Jesse’s jaw with the backside of his knuckles. A new sense of wonder engulfed his emotions. How many years had been wasted searching for something that had been under his nose half his fucking life? “I could have been your everything, huh?”

Jesse swallowed hard, his Adam’s apple bobbing like it had right before their first kiss on the pier. “My first everything, for sure.”

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Thank you so much for having me. I really enjoyed telling my story. Thank you for sharing it with your readers.
    Hugs,
    Tyler Robbins (yeah, that Robin Badillo chick is me, too. LOL!)

Leave a Reply

