Skip to content

Holley Trent visits Luscious and she brought goodies…

by on April 30, 2013

Hey, how ya doing? Today’s interview is with Holley Trent.  I have only recently discovered her work and let me just say it now and get it out of the way. Wow. I love writing, of all kinds, but romance holds a special place in my heart and anyone that can weave a tale that allows me to get lost in it has my unwavering admiration. Ms. Trent has that ability and a loyal reader for life. She sent a pretty and y’all know how I feel about them and was gracious enough to grant us an interview. Check it out below and if you continue reading you’ll get a chance to sample her work yourself with the excerpt she sent from her book Love by Premonition.

1. Tell us about yourself:  Who are you and why did you start writing?

I was raised by my grandmother in Eastern North Carolina to be a proper lady. She failed, unfortunately, but not from lack of trying. I went to college thinking I’d go pre-med, then decided that after years of academic rigor, that I actually didn’t want to spend my life working a doctor’s schedule. Also, I didn’t want to be responsible for the outcome of anyone else’s “life or death” situation. I’m not that kind of heroine. I like routine. I switched my major to English and never looked back. As far as writing fiction for publication goes, I didn’t get really serious about that until around 2005. I didn’t start writing true romance until 2011. Before that, it was all romantic elements. Most of my stories are set in North Carolina even though I don’t live there at the moment. (Someday, I’ll go home.)

2. What is your best strength when you’re writing?

Probably forecasting the next few scenes. I don’t outline. I never really know where a book is going when I start. I know who the characters are (sort of) and I know how I want the book to end, but I never know how I’ll get them there. When I sit down and write, I sort of watch the characters play out the scenes. Their personalities—their actions—tell me what the most natural course of the story is. I guess I’m a good listener. The fact I’m listening to imaginary people is sort of irrelevant, right?

3. What has been the hardest part of a book for you to write?

Dark moments and break-up scenes are hard for me, because I like to keep stories sort of light. You’ve got to start planting those seeds of discord early on. Sometimes, it’s hard to make the reconciliations believable. Just because it’s fiction doesn’t mean you can get away with making a story’s ending too pat.

4.

To date do you have any favorite characters and if so which ones and from what book?

I’m hard-pressed to think of a hero I’ve adored more than Nat McCoy from Love by Premonition. He’s so damned mysterious and intense. He’s also kind of an ass, but a charming one. For heroines, I guess I’d have a ten-way tie. There’s a piece of me in every one of those ladies, but the one that comes to the forefront of my thoughts the most is from a book that I haven’t even touched in years. I hope to fix that sucker this fall.

5. What are some of the challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

For one thing, explaining the phenomenon that a published writer isn’t necessarily a rich one and that this is a slow business.

On a more personal note, one thing I’ve found really challenging is allowing myself to write the story I need to tell and not the one I think I can sell. Sometimes authors, especially ones who write in certain popular niches (IR/MC for one) dilute their stories to make them marketable to publishers and agents, but the stories consumers want to see are the ones writers really want to tell. We’re afraid to break the cookie-cutter sometimes.

There are so many routes to getting published now, and I continuously remind myself that just because a big name publisher doesn’t know how to market my story doesn’t mean I need to hack it apart. It just means they’re not the right venue for it.

6. Do you have a favorite genre or subgenre?

I’m a big fan of romance, but within romance my favorites are erotic romance, light paranormal, and humorous contemporaries. When I have some extra reading time, I like really silly first-person mainstream stuff, a la Janet Evanovich.

7. How do you decide which book you’re going to start next?

That’s a way more complicated answer than it would have been if you’d asked me at the same time last year. Pretty much everything I write now is part of a series or a larger world. In order to get the next book out while I’ve got some momentum from readers, I’ve got to pay close attention to my publishers’ editorial lead-time. From there, I read the calendar backwards and figure out when I need to deliver a book to that publisher. Sometimes that means I have to work on two books simultaneously.

Every now and then, I work on proposal and those projects take priority because they have firm deadlines.

Sometimes I get a gut feeling that says I have to write a book now, even though I don’t know what I’m going to do with it or who I’m going to sell it to. Those disrupt my schedule a lot, but I know I’ll never get anything else done unless I write them.

I’ve only recently started assigning self-deadlines for my self-published projects. I used to just upload as soon as I was done, but I’ve got too much going on with my contracted projects that I need to structure my writing time a bit better.

8. When you not writing what are your favorite hobbies?

Reading, naturally, and…well, that’s about it. I used to bake and knit and all that, but I don’t have the stamina anymore.

9. What is the one thing you do after finishing a story?

I giggle manically because either I think it’s the craziest thing I’ve ever written or I groan because the second draft is going to be a beast.

10. Fun question. What’s your favorite carnival ride?

Jeez. The longest one on the lot. If I’m gonna stand in line, that ride better last more than 30 seconds and two dips.

0.1

Love by Premonition Blurb:

The psychic didn’t go looking for love, but she should have seen it coming.

Marcia Andrews is a freelance psychic consultant. Sick of living hand to mouth, she accepts a contract with Raleigh Police. A new gang called The Cardinals is terrorizing The Triangle, and Marcia gives the department an edge in tracking them. Help that she is, one cop isn’t so keen on her involvement, and makes sure she knows it.

Detective Nat McCoy would rather see Marcia in his bedroom than the bullpen. The gorgeous Scotsman isn’t the typical chauvinist pig, though. He’s keeping a secret that even the psychic doesn’t anticipate.

A close encounter with a Cardinal’s bullet knocks Marcia off her game when the police need her most. She loses hours to trances and ghosts haunt her sleep. She can hardly function, and everything she thought she knew about playboy McCoy suddenly seems questionable. McCoy thinks he knows the cure for what ails her—him. But can she trust him?

Excerpt:

We could hear gravel crunching under Laura’s loafers warning us of her approach, and before he could unhand me, I slid my hands behind his neck and pulled his head down to me, placing a rough kiss on his lips. My intention had just been to shock him as he had shocked me so many times, but once I felt how soft his lips were and smelled his aftershave so close, it felt as if we were being trapped into each other’s field of gravity, our tongues finding each other’s after a moment and entwining readily, as if they were familiar to each other.

There was that jolt down the spine once more, this time far more intense than ever before. My face started to feel tingly, as if I had Novocain wearing off, and I couldn’t tell where my skin ended and where his began. He looped his arms around my back, pressing me in close to his body so I could feel hard things other than his gun, badge, and belt buckle.

My moan seemed to bring him out of it. He grabbed me by the shoulders and held me back at arm’s length, looking somewhat crazed in the eyes. “Don’t start it when you can’t finish it,” he mumbled just loud enough for me to hear, clicking his truck doors open from a distance. “Sit in the back, please. I can’t concentrate with you so close.”

 

Purchase information:
Love by Premonition—a novel-length paranormal romance with a multicultural cast—will be available in major digital formats on May 3, 2013 at musapublishing.com, All Romance eBooks, Amazon, Barnes and Noble, a

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Oh wow. I sound like a bit of a kook, listening to my imaginary friends! (I guess the truth will set me free. X-) )

  2. All us writers are kooky, Holley…it’s how we create! Loved your interview. That’s one former NC girl to another.

  3. Great interview, Holley. The book sounds wonderful!

  4. ssaradaniel permalink

    I love the insight on how you decide which book to write next. I’ve been struggling with that a lot lately.

Leave a Reply

