Skip to content

A Luscious Interview with Margie Church

by on March 21, 2013

It’s interview time. That’s right folks I get another chance to play investigative reporter and sleuth some fantastic authors. My newest victim…guest is the affable Margie Church. The woman was a wealth of information about her books and she sent us lots of pretties to post. I posted our interview below and keep reading she has an awesome reads coming down the pike.

  1. Tell us about yourself:  Who are you, and why did you start writing?

Thank you so much for hosting me, Kassanna! I’m a wife, mom to two teenage sons, and a Facebook addict. After opening my third page there, I’m convinced there’s no cure. J  I’m a native Minnesotan, and my favorite seasons are fall and winter.  Love’s Storm will be my 19th book. I’ve also written a novel entitled I Am Jolene, which has yet to be contracted. I have spent my entire life doing advertising/marketing communications/ freelance magazine feature writing. I’ve only been writing fiction four years. I never thought I would have the patience for it and certainly not the talent. I’m going out on a limb here to say I was wrong.

  1. How do you react to a bad review of one of your books?

We all get them at one time or another. I’ve gotten a couple doozies. I appreciate constructive criticism. If the reader can explain why the story didn’t work or what the problems were, I find that helpful. I think people who read reviews as part of their buying decision will too. You can’t please everyone, and you’re a fool to think otherwise. Conversely, I have been stalked by groups of readers who slam my books with ridiculous, random remarks. I ignore that stuff unless it’s personal. Then, I report them to the site to have the remarks removed.

  1. To date do you have any favorite characters and if so which ones and from what book?

I love Devon from my debut series – Awakening and Avenging Allaire. He’s smart, talented, sexy, wealthy, British, and a great father and husband. If you haven’t heard of the books, the stories are great, but I own the fact they are poorly edited.

I also love Ladislav Husek from the Love Bites/Dangerous Love books. He’s the leader of the vampire nation. Vicious, powerful, tenacious, and gay. What a combination. That character kept me awake nights – claiming he didn’t understand the time zone differences between Minneapolis and his hideout in Romania.

  1. What are some of the challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

The biggest was learning the craft of fiction writing. It’s so different than AP style. I had no idea what I was doing grammar-wise. Once my most egregious mistakes were pointed out, I made a plan to master one problem and improve a second one with each book. I also didn’t know anyone who was an author, so my support system was non-existent.  And, for the first few years, my family thought I was nuts and wasting my time. These aren’t uncommon challenges by the way, but they sucked.

  1. Do you have a favorite genre or subgenre?

I love writing romantic suspense. I’ve incorporated suspenseful elements in all my books, in keeping with my moniker, Romance with SASS (Suspense, Angst, Seductive Sizzle). Three books – Awakening, Avenging Allaire, and Krewe Daddy are full-blown suspense novels.

  1. Which story of yours would you like to see brought to film?

I think Krewe Daddy would be very exciting on film. It’s a gay romance involving a fish and wildlife enforcement officer (Drew), and his love, Luis. The book has a cast of very interesting characters, including cross-dressers and gang members, a Viet Nam vet suffering from PTSD, and Kevin and Teak from Hard as Teak. There’s lots going on in this second-chances romance wrapped in law enforcement drama.

  1. When you not writing what do you enjoy doing?

I’m a workaholic. When I’m not writing, I’m often thinking about writing. BUT, if you can get me away, I love the opera and all kinds of live concerts (seeing P!nk this week and I’m so excited). I love having my nails done, having a beer or coffee with friends, walking at night, watching drum and bugle corps, fishing in the summer, and laughing with friends and family. Oh, and Days of Our Lives. I’m such a fan.

  1. What is the one thing you do after finishing a story?

I usually have this sense of farewell, sit back, smile and say, wow.

  1. What motivates you to write?

A keyboard and a blank screen. I told you, I’m hardwired to write.

  1. Fun question. Vanilla or Chocolate ice cream?

Real vanilla bean.

Here’s a pic of the awesome author… 00.7

I’d like to introduce the first two books in the Razor Series to your readers. The first is Desire’s Edge, which came out last summer.  K.B. Cutter is my co-author on the series and the second book, Love’s Storm, comes out April 12.

00.7Blurb: Razor: Desire’s Edge

Amy has a core need to occasionally be sexually dominant with her husband, and he’s not getting the message. Her solution is very unconventional. She want hers best friend, Raine, a lifestyle Domme, to mentor him.

Initially, Bryce thinks Amy’s crazy.

Raine brings a new level of excitement and kink to the marriage. What they thought would be a temporary situation evolves into much more, especially when Amy and Bryce develop deeper feelings for Raine. Their newfound intimacy makes all three examine their views about love and sex outside marital boundaries, their sexual identities, and the definition of family.

Embracing an inevitable destiny, the triad lives on the razor’s edge of a happiness many will never know. Razor: Desire’s Edge is a must-read for all those who saw, or heard about Showtime’s controversial series, “Polyamory: Married and Dating.”

This groundbreaking, erotic trilogy continues in Razor: Love’s Storm and Razor: Love’s Reflection.

Buy it on Amazon now: http://www.amazon.com/Desires-Edge-Razor-Trilogy-ebook/dp/B008FSCT1W/ref=la_B008H7HO4I_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1363391784&sr=1-8 It’s also available on Barns & Noble, Nook owners! http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/razor-margie-church/1111899086?ean=2940014678964

Coming in two weeks – Razor: Love’s Storm by Margie Church and K.B. Cutter

Their delicious, naughty secret is out, and it’s open season on Amy and Bryce’s decision to add a third person to their marriage.

All the talking in the world won’t convince critics that Amy and Bryce’s marriage is rock-solid, and there are no secrets among them. Business associates, friends, and family condemn their choice to live and love in a polyamorous relationship with Raine, a FemDom. Others meddle to undermine Bryce’s business and marriage. Even Raine’s Master thinks she’s making a huge mistake.

With no allies, and scorn coming from every direction, love and determination must lead Amy, Bryce, and Raine through love’s storm.

A few more of Margie’s covers….007

.007

Talk to me! What do you think it takes to make a polyamorous relationship work? Are you capable of loving more than one person and being honest enough to keep no secrets?

I’d love to meet you.

Margie’s website: Romance with SASS

Margie’s blog: http://blog.RomanceWithSASS.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/MargaretRChurch

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/MargieChurch

Margie’s Amazon Author page: http://www.amazon.com/Margie-Church/e/B008H7HO4I/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_1

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. Thanks for hosting me today, Kassanna! I hope your fans will stop in and say hello and give me their thoughts about polyamory. A prize awaits…but you have to comment to win.

  2. Loved the interview xx And WORD about what Margie said in regards to bad reviews 😉 perfectly put.

    • Hey JoAnne! Thanks for coming by. Hugs back to you. That review subject is touchy with a lot of us. I’ve lots author friends over it. I got a meh one today. Still said thank you. But please don’t be mean just because you can. That can be bread off our table.

  3. Lois M. permalink

    Great interview! I absolutely LOVED Desire’s Edge and cannot wait for Love’s Storm. Margie is an amazing author. I will say that when I picked up Desire’s Edge I was blown away with how well written it was. All erotic books are meant for adults but many I have read make me think they were written at the tenth grade reading level, this did not.. If you have not read this book I highly recommend it!

    • Lois! Lady, the check is in the mail! LOL thank you so much for the wonderful things you said about Razor: Desire’s Edge. K.B. Cutter and I worked very hard on that book and the second one…but we had a blast. We’re both fans of smart books and the Razor series is definitely that.

  4. Hi Margie and Kasanna! Like Lois, I am eagerly awaiting Love’s Storm. I think polyamorous relationships are great fun to read about, but are probably very complicated in real life. Personally I think I’m too insecure and jealous to handle something like that, lol!

    • Don’t laugh, Nona! I’m pretty sure I’d be in the same boat with you. It’s hard to tell though. I mean if you got into one of these with the right people, you might cope well. It would mean letting go of lots of traditional beliefs and ways of thinking. Thanks for coming by and I hope you enjoy the second book.

  5. Heys, I know this chick. Always a pleasure to read about what makes ya tick, Margie.

    • Thanks Mr. Cutter. If I ever figure out what makes you tick, that’ll be a miracle. Thanks for stopping in.

Leave a Reply

