Skip to content

Romance for St. Patrick’s Day?

by on March 9, 2013

saint patrick dressWhen I think of St. Patrick’s Day, my first thought is of Parosol’s bar, located in the Irish Channel of New Orleans. You get there, you drink, you kiss random people, you may flash for some beads (please don’t take this as confirmation or negation of what I’ve done there) and you drink some more. It’s a good time for all.

Not really what I’d call a romantic event, but it is hot! Get there if you can.

So I searched among my favorite Irish poets for something romantic to add to my recollections of the holiday and it would be one of my favorites – William Butler Yeats, who provided just that.

He Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven by William Butler Yeats

Had I the heaven’s embroidered cloths,

Enwrought with golden and silver light,

The blue and the dim and the dark cloths

Of night and light and the half-light,

I would spread the cloths under your feet:

But I, being poor, have only my dreams;

I have spread my dreams under your feet;

Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

Did y’all hear that? This man says if he could he would fluff the fabric of the heavens under this woman’s feet. Fold, beneath her, the very constellations.

But since he cannot do that, he will give her…his dreams, his aspirations, all those things hoped for.

Whoo! I guess there can be romance with this holiday!

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Shyla Colt permalink

    Beautiful! Yeates has a way with words, doesn’t he?

Leave a Reply

