Skip to content

Homemade Granola

by on March 4, 2013

My name is Cora Blu and let me start out by saying hello to everyone and thank you for allowing me to be here. I am a romance author, writing interracial and an underwater fantasy series.

I figure my first post should be a gift, and this homemade granola recipe can be used on many things or straight out the jar.

Homemade granola

Homemade granola

I started using this years ago to keep on the counter after bicycle rides. It started out a recipe from Ina Garten and I’ve adapted it over the years. Enjoy.
Ingredients
4 cups old-fashioned rolled oats (not the quick oats, they will burn)
4 cups sweetened shredded coconut (save 2 cups to mix in after it’s cooled)
2 cups sliced almonds
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup good honey ( I use a clover flavored honey)
2 Tbsp cinnamon, in the fall I add a ½ tsp pumpkin seasoning.
1 1/2 cups small diced dried apricots, ½ cup diced dried kiwi (I don’t cook any dried fruit. I add it at the end.)
1 cup small diced dried figs
1 cup dried cherries
1 cup dried cranberries
1 cup sunflower seeds, shelled

Directions
Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.
Toss the oats, 2 cups coconuts, and almonds together in a large bowl. Whisk together the oil and honey in a small bowl. Pour the liquids over the oat mixture and stir with a wooden spoon until all the oats and nuts are coated. Pour onto a 13 by 18 by 1-inch sheet pan. Bake, stirring occasionally with a spatula, until the mixture turns a nice, even, golden brown, about 45 minutes. Check every ten minutes.
Remove the granola from the oven and allow to cool, stirring occasionally. Add the 2 cups of coconuts, apricots, figs, cherries, cranberries. Store the cooled granola in an airtight container.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

