Skip to content

PotLuck Wednesday ~ Stuffed mushroom caps

by on February 20, 2013

Hello Friends,

I don’t know about you but I’m the only one that eats mushrooms in my house which utterly saddens me because I have this awesome recipe for some fabulous stuffed mushrooms and nobody to share it with. Until now, I originally took this recipe from y favorite site All recipes, but over the years I have tweaked it to my tastes. I hope you enjoy as much as I do. The recipe calls for small white mushroom caps but I have tried other mushroom types and the recipe has come out wonderfully. If you try it let me know how they turn out.

.000

Ingredients

Original recipe makes 10 servings.
  • 1 pound Savory Sage or Italian Sausage, chopped. (Personal note: I used mild turkey sausage chopped fine and I have also added a few slices of chopped bacon too. Gives it a different texture.)

  • 1/2 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and well drained

  • 1/4 cup dry bread crumbs (Personal note: Italian bread crumbs give the stuffing a robust flavor)

  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

  • 40 small white mushrooms, stems removed (Personal note: Also works well with Portobello mushrooms. I used 10 caps)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.
  2. In large skillet over medium heat, crumble and cook sausage until browned. Remove from heat and stir in spinach, bread crumbs and cheese until well combined.
  3. Place mushroom caps on a baking sheet and fill with sausage stuffing. Bake 15-20 minutes or until mushrooms are tender. (Note: For the larger mushroom heads I have added anywhere from 3 to 5 minutes of additional time)
From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Yum! I am not a big sausage person but will probably try it with bacon. Sadly, my husband is not as fond of mushrooms as I am but that means more for me, lol. I recently tried my hand at making mushroom soup…I have to tweak it to get it as creamy as I would like but I definitely enjoyed it. Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

