Skip to content

Another interview with a luscious writer – Stephanie Mayfield is in the house.

by on January 29, 2013

I’ve known Stephanie for about a year now and let me tell you, that chick is all about the ride or die philosophy.  Don’t worry about her holding the bail money. I can honestly say Stephanie would be the friend sitting next to you in the jail cell. LOL! Anyway she has a couple books out and a hot new release. I have the pretty for that and will be displaying it later. In the meantime she was kind enough to sit down and let me interview her. I must admit I love her down to earth qualities and I really have to say this again. If you think you have some issues this is the chick you want in your corner, cause she will break it down to anybody Southern style. Check out below what she has to say.

  1. Give us a brief introduction:  Who are you and what do you do?

Well my name is Stephanie Mayfield, and I do a little of everything.  First off I’m a wife/mother/sister/friend, and then I squeeze in home nurse, part-time EMT, writer/author, reader/reviewer, knitter (which leads to yarn hoarder), book-hoarder (lol as my husband calls me) and full-time student.  I’m a romance-aholic (I don’t think that’s a real word but it’s me) I’m one of those people that vowed to never grow up, who tries to see the brighter side of everything while admitting that everything has a dark side.

  1. How do you react to a bad review of one of your books? 

Bad reviews?!?  Never…… Honestly I don’t let it get to me. I generally laugh it off.  I’ve had my share of vanishing BETA readers, those who want to rewrite my story to suit them so I’ve gotten good at looking at the bad reviews and close one eye and giggle. Everyone has their own opinion, sometimes they don’t mesh with what we agree with but it doesn’t make them wrong. Just gotta roll with the punches, and learn from them.

  1. Are the names of the characters in your novels important?

Yes, to me these are people.  They’re my alter ego’s so to speak, and no one wants to hear ‘Hey you!! Yeah you over there hiding the corner.’ I created each one and everyone, and they live inside my head.

  1. What are some of the challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

I don’t outline so getting the whole story on paper well enough for EVERYONE to understand while making complete sentences, and my cat sitting on the keyboard.

  1. Do you believe in love at first sight?

Oh yeah, I believe Fate has someone for each of us and they know who they are. We do too.  We just need that extra nudge sometimes.

  1. Which story of yours would you like to see brought to film?

Oh all of them.  What writer wouldn’t dream of seeing them all on film, I couldn’t choose.

  1. Did you have any New Year’s resolutions and what were they?

To not make any resolutions this year, resolutions are meant to be ignored. Set goals.

  1. What is the one thing you do after finishing a story?

Depends on the story, cry, laugh hysterically, call/text my sister and say ‘IT”S DONE!!’ Then promptly start working on the next one.

  1. What motivates you to write?

A deep rooted love for it. My kids. My husband. My friends and family. To prove to myself that I can do it.

  1. What are the most important elements of good writing, in your opinion?

Making your characters come to life, to build a world for someone to escape to. To show your love for writing in your work. Writing a story your readers will enjoy but at the same time makes you feel good about what you wrote. Writing for the simple joy of bringing a little joy and entertainment to someone, it’s not all about the money. It’s about the enjoyment you bring others and to yourself.

 

What did I tell you. I consider myself lucky to call Stephanie my friend. Now as promised here is the pretty with the blurb and buy link.

0.8

All the Right Reasons
Love, you can’t choose who fate chooses for you, nor can you choose when fate will throw the two of you together.
The last thing Samantha Garrison was looking for in her new life was a man. All Brian James wanted to do was hold the life he had together. Neither where ready for each other.

~His deep voice was low in response. “The other night made me realize you’re not like everyone else, there’s something about you; there’s this pull. I felt it the moment you ran into me the first night you started and I have no clue what it is. When I’m around you I want more. You make me want to believe that there is more to the world than what we see every day. It’s the way you treat every person with respect and how you look at things around you, sometimes almost with a childlike innocence. You make me feel…” He cocked his head to the side thinking for the right word. “…normal and it scares the hell out of me. I don’t think I could stop at just being friends. Being near you makes me want so much more.”~


From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Very nice interview. The blurb got my attention!

  2. Stephanie Mayfield permalink

    Hi!! Thank you Kass!! Isn’t she sweet. I had a lot of fun with the interview, which is a really cool, really unique thing. Me is not my favorite subject. In all honesty this book almost didn’t happen. I had a lot of down moments while writing this one but I had a few very determined people to give me that push (two to give me that ‘move your butt girl’ shove). I hope you all enjoy it Bryan is one of my personal favorites. If anyone has any questions feel free to give a shout out. HUGGS!!

Leave a Reply

