Skip to content

Take Responsibility

by on January 6, 2013

Two little words have never had a greater meaning than right now. So often we go through life never quite being responsible for our actions and it isn’t easy. I truly learned to take responsibility as a manager of a restaurant. When stuff goes wrong, customers are not looking at the server, they want the person in charge. If the deposit was short and it was my shift, I took the heat. If something didn’t get cleaned the night before, well it was my responsibility to make sure my crew did what they were supposed to do. All it took was one time for my boss to yell at me and that was enough for me. No matter how many times I looked to the left or to the right there was no one for me to blame. After all I signed up to be a manager, to make sure company policies and procedures were carried out and if they weren’t it was also my job to discipline employees. Not a pleasant task, but sometimes very enjoyable. 🙂 As long as I went by the book I was covered. One thing was abundantly clear while in a management position, the company can always find someone else.

Relationships are like that as well. If the two people involved don’t accept responsibility for their actions or inactions, rather than a pink slip and a severance package, one is sobbing in the beer or eating a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Everything but the… while the other is blissfully browsing the black book for a replacement. So what are your plans for 2013? Replacement or Responsibility? Are you gonna take the easy way or challenge yourself to be a better person? Being replaced is easy, accepting responsibility requires growth and growth leads to better beginnings.

Until next time, Indulge Your Inner Romantic

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Great post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

