Skip to content

Loveland and Andrea Downing

by on December 18, 2012

Hi Lynn, thanks so much for having me here today!

1) Out of your published stories, which hero is your favorite?   Loveland is my only published book at the moment, although I have a couple of irons in the fire!  But I suspect Jesse will remain my favourite hero for quite some time.  Call it first love if you like, but I did create my kinda guy.  Strong yet gentle, not afraid to speak his mind but giving Alex just the right amount of leeway, a guy who knows his woman inside out and accepts her the way she is, and, of course, a great lover!

2) How do you come up with the titles of your books? They seem to just pop into my head.  Loveland had a different title to begin with, which I thought was particularly pertinent but it turned out it was not ‘romantic’ enough.  Loveland, where the book was always set, obviously was a super choice both representing the setting and, well, as a romantic name.  The second book I’ve written had one title which I thought, to begin with, was perfect, but then I discovered there were a number of other books with the same title!  So that went out the window and, in any event, I felt that it might attract too narrow an audience.  You have to think of promoting the book when you title it!

3) What are some of the challenges you’ve faced as a writer?  Ugh, everything.  It took me a long time to get up the nerve to put my work out there for public consumption; rejection is really difficult.  So that was my main problem.  Nowadays, it’s finding enough time to do everything that’s involved with writing, particularly on the promotion and social media side.  I just don’t think there are enough hours in the day, quite honestly.  Did someone make a mistake when clocks were invented?

4) Who is your favorite author and what is it that really strikes you about their work?  I don’t really have a favourite author, I have favourite books, although there are a number of authors whose works I look out for.  Michael Chabon, Margaret Atwood and Maggie Osborne are three of those I keep an eye on, though Osborne has stopped writing now so it’s a matter of working my way through her oeuvre.  Chabon and Atwood I like because of their quirky themes; I’m not keen on Atwood’s futuristic stuff so haven’t read those but the others I really enjoy.  As for Osborne, well, she’s a western historical romance writer and you don’t get much better than her in that genre.

5) If you had to choose, which writer would you consider a mentor?  I’d have to go back to Maggie Osborne. She taught me that a romance doesn’t have to be just boy-meets-girl but can be a rollicking good yarn as well.

6) What’s your favorite holiday tradition?  When my daughter was small, I used to write her a series of poems and print them out to leave the sheets in a sequence leading from her room.  Each poem would have a clue as to where or what another present might be and then, of course, she would start hunting around the house for the presents.  I didn’t leave the presents under the tree because, living in England at the time, we were almost always going abroad to visit my family and room in the luggage was at a limit!  In any case, she received quite enough presents from other family members on Christmas Day.

7) Do you prefer snow and all the festive things to do in the winter or like cozying up in a warm sunny place?  Wow, that’s a real toughie, Lynn!  I quite like both.  My picture-book Christmas is cozy by the fire with snow outside and a sleigh ride at some point, but my reality is that we’ve always gone someplace warm and sunny to meet with family.  Still, I’m not complaining—Piña Coladas will ease the pain…

8) Do you tear the wrapper from your gifts or carefully remove to prolong the suspense? My late mother-in-law, may she rest in peace, was one of those people who carefully slits the tape, removes the paper and folds it to reuse another year.  I think I’ve had an allergic reaction to that and now rip it off.  I mean, screw the suspense, I want my pressie!!  Let’s get the heck on with the show…

Thanks so much for having me here today, Lynn.  It’s been fun.   And a very Happy Holiday Season to you and all your readers.  And if you’re stuck for gifts, folks, there are plenty of books to buy…

Loveland_w6692_300When Lady Alexandra Calthorpe returns to the Loveland, Colorado, ranch owned by her father, the Duke, she has little idea of how the experience will alter her future. Headstrong and willful, Alex tries to overcome a disastrous marriage in England and be free of the strictures of Victorian society –and become independent of men. That is, until Jesse Makepeace saunters back into her life…

Hot-tempered and hot-blooded cowpuncher Jesse Makepeace can’t seem to accept that the child he once knew is now the ravishing yet determined woman before him. Fighting rustlers proves a whole lot easier than fighting Alex when he’s got to keep more than his temper under control.

Arguments abound as Alex pursues her career as an artist and Jesse faces the prejudice of the English social order. The question is, will Loveland live up to its name?

He watched as she sat on a stool and pulled first one boot, then the other off and kicked them aside, then she stood and put her leg on the stool to roll down her stockings one by one.

He marveled at her wantonness, her lack of propriety. “Alex, stop,” he said, laying his hand on hers. “Stop. You know…”

But he was lost; she took his face in her hands and pulled him to her, kissing him so any resistance he had had was now shattered. His heart was beating faster at the sweetness of her mouth, the softness of her tongue, the lack of air as they sought each other. His hands moved over her feeling the outline of her body, knowing its curves, its gentleness, its yielding. “Are you sure?” he asked at last.

“I want you so much, Jesse, I want you so much, I’m not waiting three years. And if…if anything happens, so what? We’ll get married, that’ll be it.”

“Yes, but Alex, you can’t…I mean it’d be a shotgun wedding, it’s not how—”

“Shh.” She put her finger to his mouth and then turned for him to unhook her gown. He ran his hands gently down her exposed back, feeling each scar, then kissed her neck.

“You have nothing on under…”

“It’s how the gown is made. Monsieur Worth builds the undergarments into the gown.” Her voice was at barely a whisper, a tremor showing her nerves. She turned and still held the gown up to her, then, looking at Jesse, let it drop to the floor.

Buy Links:

 

Wild Rose Press

 

Amazon

 

ARe

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Thanks for having me, Lynn. and merry Christmas to everyone!

Leave a Reply

