Skip to content

Yuletide Felicitations!

by on December 10, 2012

Thanks to DVDs and the BBC, I got to enjoy a British comedy called The Good Life. One of the main characters, Margo, uses the phrase Yuletide Felicitations as a holiday greeting. Yes, Margo, is a bit of a snob. But how cool is that? I’m gathering up my nerve to say it or at least write it on holiday cards!

100836-20121209It gets lame saying ‘Happy Holidays’ over and over again. (I only use Merry Christmas if we are BFFAEs. I just don’t need the stress.)

So this year, I’m looking for some greetings to spice up my traditional holiday speak and thought I’d share:

Season’s Greetings: I really can’t see myself saying this, but it made the cut.

Happy Christmas: There is some contention with this one so use with caution. This is supposedly the way in which Merry Christmas is said in Britain. (Don’t stress the messenger, I’m just saying.)

Joyeux Noel: French and so pretty. You hold the joyeux in your throat and bounce the noel off your tongue.

Mele Kalikimaka: This is Hawaiian. Blame my brother who lived there for two years if this isn’t correct

Meri Kirihimete: This is Maori. The blame for this one lies with a friend who lives in New Zealand.

Feliz Navidad: This is Spanish (Don’t start singing. You won’t get the song out of your head!)

Froehliche Weihnachten: This is German. A co-worker and I looked this up using Google Translate so we could hang outside the international office on the sixth floor of the building and say it to the hot German guys as they get on the elevator. If one of them responds to us, we plan on running away giggling like school girls. Don’t judge. This is how I make through my work day.

My hope is that you are enjoying your holidays so far and that I’ve added something new to your traditional speak. Let me know if you use any of these and the reaction you get. I just may answer my phone – Yuletide Felicitations – today!

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Giggling like school girls? Count me in and Joyeux Noel.

  2. LOL I love this too much fun!

  3. I love all the ways to say Merry Christmas!

  4. Merry Yule! 🙂

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Congrats – Holiday Gifts of Love Winners! « valloryv

Leave a Reply

