Skip to content

So she’s finally come on over to the Luscious side! Say hello to MJ Kane.

by on December 6, 2012

butterfly

It has been a busy month…yes I know the month just started but with so many talented people to talk with and so many interesting books to read. Well time is just flying by. And the more I look the more I find.

I had the pleasure of making the acquaintance of MJ Kane. She and I frequent quite a few groups together. *Leans in and whispers* I don’t know if you know this but she has a new book out A Heart Not Easily Broken, The Butterfly Memoirs Series. MJ was kind enough to give me an interview and she sent over a pretty as well as a blurb. I gotta say we at Luscious are feeling really special right now.  So check out what MJ has to say and look but don’t touch the pretty cover she sent over.

Interview ~

  1. Give us a brief introduction:  Who are you and what do you do?

My name is M.J. Kane and I am the author of The Butterfly Memoirs Series published by 5 Prince Publishing. My debut novel, A Heart Not Easily Broken was published September, 2012, and has had a great response from readers.

  1. How do you react to a bad review of one of your books?

I take it in stride and remember two things, 1) You can’t please everybody, that’s the beauty of genres and sub-genres. Even within those there is room for authors to write and express themselves and tell their stories to the best of their abilities.  As long as I am confident I have done my best, then I don’t take a negative review to heart. 2) If a reader has something negative to say, I look between the lines and determine if something they said can be applied to make my next book better. If not and they truly didn’t like my work, then it’s like I said above, can’t please everyone!

  1. Are the names of the characters in your novels important?

Yes they are. A Heart Not Easily Broken deals with various themes, the most obvious is Interracial Romance. My goal was to not focus on just the racial differences, but dating issues any couple can relate too. But I did want to keep the fact they were different as an undertone. I chose the names Ebony and Brian because they are some of the most popular black/white names.

  1. What are some of the challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

The hardest was finding a publisher who would allow me to tell my story the way I wrote it based on the themes I wrote about. I ‘broke’ the romance genre rule and addressed a taboo subject publishers prefer to avoid because they feel readers will not buy the book: rape. I am proof that is just not the case. The focus is not on the act at all, but the heroine’s ability to continue to face life the best she can, making mistakes and bad decisions along the way, yet in the end come out a new woman, stronger than she was before, and yes, with a Happily Ever After. Reviewers have shown that they were surprised by the events in the book, yet satisfied as to how it was addressed and handled. That was my goal. The other obstacle was writing in 1st Person. Many suggested I turn to 3rd Person, but I refused. The Butterfly Memoirs is exactly as the name entails… a diary of a person’s life. You just can’t tell that type of story using a 3rd Person POV.

 

  1. Do you believe in love at first sight?

Yes! It is possible, but it still must be nurtured!

  1. Which story of yours would you like to see brought to film?

A Heart Not Easily Broken, definitely! It’s got Lifetime written all over it!

  1. What is your favorite winter holiday tradition, if any?

Sleeping in without having to get up and drop the kids off at school! It’s the best present/tradition all in one!

  1. What is the one thing you do after finishing a story?

Fall out! LOL, no just kidding! I save that bad boy and walk away, and force myself to not look at or think about (like that really works!!!) it at all for at least a week. My muse needs as much of a break as I do. Often it seems to recover before me because new characters, plots, and themes pick back up in no time! I also use that time to read books by my favorite authors as well as discover new one. Just because I write doesn’t mean I can’t chill back with a good book!

  1. What motivates you to write?

The need to tell stories as I see them in my mind. I often think of scenarios inspired by something I’ve seen on TV, heard on the radio or news, and wonder, What if? What if the situation was reversed? What would a person who never experienced an event like that before do? Then, I write!

10. What are the most important elements of good writing, in your opinion?

Plotting.  A lot of authors are pansters or plotters, when in all honesty it’s a bit of both. Me, I’m heavy on the plotting when developing my characters and considering what themes to address or what message I wish to convey.  I get very technical. I can’t write without an outline. I tried it before and the story and the characters were two-dimensional. I become a panster when I pick up my pen and follow my chapter outlines and let the words and story flow freely. Sometimes my characters stick to the outline, sometimes they begin to grow and expand beyond what my original thoughts were. When they do, I let them go for it, then reign them in if need be.

Blurb ~

Ebony is a smart, sexy, career-oriented black woman who wants nothing more than a summer fling with a man who challenges her mind and body. What she doesn’t expect is a blond haired, blue-eyed bass player—who won’t take “no” for an answer—to accept the challenge. When Ebony’s attempt at a brief fling turns into more, despite negative reactions from friends and family, she finds juggling love, family, and career are nothing compared to the ultimate betrayal she endures. Now her dreams spiral into lies and secrets that threaten her future and her best friend’s trust.

Buy Links ~

Amazon

Barnes&Noble

iTunes

Smashwords

Where you can find MJ ~

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

This Writer’s Life Blog

The Butterfly Memoirs Blog

Google+

Linkedin

Email

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Great interview ladies. Thanks for being her MJ.

  2. MJ Kane permalink

    Thank you for having me!!!

Leave a Reply

