Skip to content

Another day another fantastic author! Put your hands together for Naomi Jones!

by on December 4, 2012

I’m hereeee! And this time I brought a pretty (for those of you just joining me I call book covers my pretties) as well as an interview with a great author. Naomi Jones fills us in on what’s rocking in her world and brought a tight little piece of writing with her. A.K.A and excerpt. So check out the interview below and look at my pretty but don’t touch! Then maybe I’ll give you a peek at the excerpt. Later folks.

  1. Give us a brief introduction:  Who are you and what do you do?

I’m Naomi Jones and I write interracial stories.  They’re a mixture of contemporary and paranormal pieces.

  1. How do you react to a bad review of one of your books?

I haven’t had one yet, but I would hope to take it with a grain of salt.  Only because taking it personally would lead to nowhere.

  1. Are the names of the characters in your novels important?

They’re extremely important.  Especially with the heroes.  Their names must have a certain sensuality to it that can make any woman shiver just whispering or even thinking of it.

  1. What are some of the challenges you’ve faced as a writer?

Time and editing.  After working for 10 hours my two year takes up the balance of my time.  After he goes to sleep the dreadful edits begin. ( cringe ) J

  1. Do you believe in love at first sight?

No.

  1. Which story of yours would you like to see brought to film?

Landon’s Destiny

  1. What is your favorite winter holiday tradition, if any?

On Christmas day my entire family gets together to have a big dinner before opening gifts.  This holiday and Thanksgiving are the only occasions we come together due to our hectic schedules.

  1. What is the one thing you do after finishing a story?

Once a story is published the first I do is call my mother and send her a copy.

  1. What motivates you to write?

Fans.  When I receive emails asking when the next story is coming out it’s a true blessing.

10. What are the most important elements of good writing, in your opinion?

Organization.  This is something that I’m still working on.  I have a bunch of characters in my head all screaming to be put on paper.  Trying to keep them in perfect order is the hardest part for me.  And it seems like they talk most during edits.

It’s me again. Did I not tell you she stoked the interview. Now as promised  the newest pretty. Don’t you just love a hero with a bald head? Yummy! What better way to celebrate the holidays.50

And since you stuck around…check out the EXCERPT.

He’d always been comfortable with Maxi but he’d never actively thought about it until the first time they had sex. After picking up some takeout, Cameron had come home to find Maxi sitting at the kitchen island reading. It wasn’t the fact that she was in his house that had surprised him as he’d given her a key. It was the realization that he always wanted Maxi to be waiting when he arrived home.

Her legs were crossed as she swayed side to side on the stool. He still remembered how good she looked in the black mini-skirt that molded to her curvaceous hips and showed off her milk chocolate thighs. He couldn’t keep his eyes off her no matter how hard he tried, so he distracted himself by allowing Maxi to watch one of the B-movies she had an unhealthy addiction to. Not even “Killer Klowns from Outer Space” could distract him from her beauty.

Maxi eventually fell asleep on his shoulder, her nose tickling his neck. The stirring in his lower region kept him wide-awake. Blowing caution to the wind he placed a light kiss on her forehead and worked his way down. Instead of moving away Maxi had moved closer until their lips locked. There was no going back after that moment. Cameron remembered waking with their arms wrapped around each other almost possessively. Instead of being freaked out, he’d found himself oddly at ease. That was the moment Cameron realized just how deep his feelings were for her.

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Hi Naomi, great interview and thank you for being with us today. You had me at bald. 🙂

  2. Great interview!!!

  3. Naomi Jones permalink

    Thx W Lynne. And a special thx to Luscious Literaries for having me.

  4. drea riley permalink

    whooo and can i just say I LOVED this book…*im partial whatever* but dude with his hair issues… loved it

  5. r.w. shannon permalink

    i have the same problem with my characters when i edit. mostly, i just shrug and go with it. Cool interview!

  6. Billy London permalink

    I love that you send your mum copies of your book!

Leave a Reply

