Skip to content

Thankful: A Spirit of Gratitude

by on November 27, 2012

It is now two days after the Thanksgiving holiday. What a beautiful day we had with family.  Food and laughter, what more can anyone ask for?  I do hope you all had loads of fun with friends and family and plenty of reasons to be thankful for.  For me and mine we did as we always did we came down to Bakersfield, California to spend it with my Aunt and two cousins.  This has become a family tradition for my husband, two kids and I.  It all started about eight years ago because my mother went on a cruise that year and we didn’t know where we were going to have Thanksgiving.  I mentioned it to my Aunt who stated we were more than welcome to spend it with her and the kids.  The rest is history.

So basically we drive down the night before or leave early on Thanksgiving morning depending on what our schedule is like. Some years we can ask for the day before off and other times we’ve had to work.  Luckily the last few years we haven’t had to worry about working on Thanksgiving because my husband and I have changed jobs and it allows us to be off that day.

So fast forward some years to Thanksgiving 2012.  The kids are now 7 and 9 years old and we also have a little Brussels Griffon to bring along to the family outing named Inkblot.  I’m a planner when it comes to trips so basically our suitcases are already packed and we have some idea of what we’re bringing and not bringing. (I hate to forget things and to be late).

This year we both worked on Wednesday and we get off at 4:30 pm.  Well experience has told my husband and I that unless we are leaving early in the morning on Wednesday or later at night there is no way we will go around any rush hours.  There was also the fact that I’m taking a creative writing course which happens to be on Wednesday nights.  I had homework due so I thought ahead and emailed the professor who said that I could drop off the homework and didn’t have to come to class.  So my husband took in my homework, came back home and took about a two hour nap before we were set to get on the road.  We got the car packed with our stuff, the kids and the dog and headed from Riverside, California to Bakersfield California. We’ve been here since 1:30 am on Thanksgiving morning and will be leaving sometime tomorrow (Sunday).

Now I said all that to give some of the reasons why I am thankful (though I have more reasons than this and not necessarily in this order).

1.  First and foremost I am thankful to God to be given another day to be alive.

2. Secondly I’m thankful for my kids. They are the light in my life even when times are rough.

3. Thankful for my husband as he does things for me that I could never do for myself or that I would never do for me.

4. My extended family. It’s good to be around family and to reminisce about the days gone by while building new memories.

5. Thankful that I have a job with insurance to be able to provide for my family.

6. Thankful that even through the hard times God has made a way for me and my family when there didn’t seem to be a way.

7. I am blessed to be able to have the ability to create characters and their worlds.  Another blessing that God has given me.

8. Thankful for the friendships I’ve forged through life as they have helped to shape my character as well.

9. Thankful for the roof over my head and the food that we eat.

10. Thankful for not only the past but the coming future.

There are plenty more things to be thankful for. I’d just like to say that we should always be thankful no matter the month (though I know most of us know this). A spirit of gratitude is something we should all emulate.  So tell me …what are you thankful for?

Blessings and love…

Nikki

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

