Skip to content

Thankful to give Back

by on November 20, 2012

Today I’m thankful to be in a place where I can give back and shine light on issues and causes I feel strongly about. Over a year into my writing journey I’ve learned many things, but one of the unexpected perks was an audience. When I realized people were listening to what I had to say, I wanted to use the platform for good. My husband is a Marine, my father, grandfathers, and great grandfathers were all Army men. So, the military is near and dear to my heart.  Seeing the things these courageous men and women along with their families sacrifice is humbling. I’m proud of my husband and his selfless service, despite the difficult lifestyle it can bring.

My mother currently works for the VA hospital, the same one my father worked in for as long as I can remember. It’s brought me in contact with some amazing and at times very injured or sick people. I wanted to do something to not only honor them but provide help.

I put my head together with my husband and we came up with the anthology, No Man Left Behind. A collection of sweet romances that show the struggles are military men and women encounter. Set to release Dec 1st, fifty percent of each purchase goes to the wounded warrior project, an amazing foundation that helps our wounded heroes.  As their moto goes, The greatest casualty is being forgotten. I’m grateful to be able to do my part to make sure that doesn’t happen.

Even after our brave men and women leave the battlefield, the scars can linger physically and  sometimes mentally. Here are three tales of courage, strength, perseverance, and love that deal with both.After a long sting in Afghanistan, Cpl. Trevor Martin finds himself home for leave and contemplating  reenlistment or civilian life. Weary and tired of the grim sights he’s witnessed, he turns to his old friend Carly for comfort. When Trevor shows signs of PTSD, Carly urges him to get help, hoping that Repairing His Soul won’t cost them their rapidly forming romance.After a near death experience with an IED in the Middle East, Staff Sgt Alexander Denning is grateful to be alive but scarred inside and out after his fiancée’s bitter rejection of his choice to continue serving. Georgette “George” Harper is attending Jane Wayne day for her sister when she’s smitten with the MCMap instructor Staff Sgt. Denning. Can she convince him what they have is worth the risk? Wooing Her Sergeant may be harder than she thinks.

When Mika gets a phone call that her husband Kasey’s been hurt abroad, it’s her worse nightmare. Prayers and the grace of God deliver him through, but the battle isn’t over yet. The journey back to happiness and health will be painful, full of setbacks and damaged feelings, but Mika refuses to give up on the man she knows is her one true love. A true Marine’s wife is Always Faithful, no matter the cost to herself.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. I love this and I am behind you 150%, My parents were military. I thank them every day for their service. Can’t wait till this comes out. I will be buying it!
    Nikki

  2. Alyssandra Foster permalink

    Wow this is amazing. I will definitely be passing this on to all of my military friends and family.

Leave a Reply

