Skip to content

Recipe Wednesday ~ Two words…Pecan Pie.

by on November 14, 2012

 

Hey Foodies,

How are ya? Below is my contribution to recipe Wednesday. If you’ve been following this blog then you will notice that I have a sweet tooth and love desserts. I think I would rather eat the sweets than the actual meal.  With the holidays fast approaching I am in literal heaven. Between Thanksgiving and Christmas, my house and those of my relatives are virtual smorgasbords of cakes, pies, cookies, puddings…I can go on and on. My mother has a super simple, cannot-get-enough-of-it recipe for pecan pie and you my friends are the lucky recipients of said information. *Whisper* She has no clue I am sharing it so believe me when I tell you I am taking my life in my hands by committing this act of familial treason. But I like you so I figure it will only be an issue if I get caught (grin).  So enjoy my friends, Happy Thanksgiving.

Classic Pecan Pie

  • 1 cup Light OR Dark Corn Syrup
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract
  • 1-1/2 cups (6 ounces) pecans
  • 1 (9-inch) unbaked or frozen** deep-dish pie crust

 

1)Preheat oven to 350°F.

2)Mix corn syrup, eggs, sugar, butter and vanilla using a spoon. Stir in pecans. Pour filling into pie crust.

3)Bake on center rack of oven for 60 to 70 minutes (see tips for doneness, below). Cool for 2 hours on wire rack before serving.

**To use prepared frozen pie crust: Place cookie sheet in oven and preheat oven as directed. Pour filling into frozen crust and bake on preheated cookie sheet.

***RECIPE TIPS: Pie is done when center reaches 200°F. Tap center surface of pie lightly – it should spring back when done. For easy clean up, spray pie pan with cooking spray before placing pie crust in pan. If pie crust is overbrowning, cover edges with foil.

***High Altitude Adjustments: Reduce sugar to 2/3 cup and increase butter to 3 tablespoons. Reduce oven temperature to 325°F.

***VARIATION: coarsely chopped walnuts may be substituted for pecans to make a walnut pie.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

